R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-16-2005, 01:01 PM   #2161
Tech Regular
 
Paul_Sinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maumee, Ohio
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to Paul_Sinclair
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Aaron Waldron
When I do leave for a big school (fall of '06) it will all stay here and I'll travel to where my dad is.
That's what I tried to do, Aaron, but the itch to race gets the best of you! This sport is addicting, I swear. I'm now keeping all my stuph in the back of my car and racing as I can on the weekends.... good thing my college has an enclosed and guarded campus.
Paul_Sinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 03:57 PM   #2162
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

I'm a little worried....if I get accepted to U of Hawaii....there aren't any tracks out there! I guess I'll have to build one on the campus.....or just put racing on hold and get into street racing or girl chasing! Maybe both.....
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 04:25 PM   #2163
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to Dawn Sanchez
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mafiaracers
to U of Hawaii....there aren't any tracks out there!

All HAWAII State Racers Post Here

I found this on the Racing Forum here on RC Tech

Dawn
Dawn Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 04:26 PM   #2164
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to Dawn Sanchez
Default

and this on the ROAR Website:

http://www.roarracing.com/regions/region14/index.htm
Dawn Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 04:58 PM   #2165
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

OOOOHHH...maybe I'll be doing 3 things in Hawaii!

Thank you Dawn!
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 11:02 PM   #2166
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Paul - There are a couple schools around here that would be good for my major that are less than two hours away..so it wouldn't be that big of a deal.

Even if I only raced one or two weekends a month and big races, it wouldn't be that bad. I'm sure I could find enough things to keep my busy...haha.

There's always time for R/C and girl chasing!
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 04:05 AM   #2167
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hi everyone; i have a MF2 that i race indoors and 2 mugen mbx4xr buggys for outside. i havn't tried a nitro 1/10 stadium truck(like an AD2) yet. i like my mf2 so much i was thinking about getting an AD2 for my nitro season instead of a new buggy.
how does the AD2 compare to MF2?

the deal is my local track is going from 2 times a week to 2 times a month. i wanted a new buggy for this year(my XR's are getting old) but spending 700 bucks +spare parts to only race a few times is turning me off.
auto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 07:27 AM   #2168
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

I'm still new to the gas scene too (AD1)....but from what I've found its night and day.....It doesn't steer, accelerate or brake like your MF2, and the powerband is different too....It just takes some getting used to....but I must say.....I am enjoying it!
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 11:28 AM   #2169
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

Aaron,

On my CV....is it possible to remove the one shim under the head? I'm running an Odonnell head. Could I get more compression like this? or is the spacer very necessary for other things?
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 12:37 PM   #2170
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,296
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

The shim is necessary. Yes it would give you more compression, but I believe it is there to help seal the combustion chamber as well. Plus you would have to check and make sure the piston would clear the glow plug also.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 08:00 PM   #2171
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

Gas truck and modified truck are a lot closer together than 1/8th scale is with any other class. If you can get an electric truck around the track, gas truck won't be hard to pick up.

That said, they're nothing alike when it comes to handling or setup. I like them both equally..but I run my gas truck LOTS more than my electric truck

Chris - You need that for a seal..it's a gasket as well as a shim. You may be able to shop around the LHS for a thinner one though. Grab the calipers and start looking!
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 11:34 PM   #2172
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

Well.....upon inspection tonight, I was digging in the cooling head with my EXACTO and dug out two more shims....How I missed them...I have no idea! Anysay, that makes 3 total. Do I need 3? They are the way super thin ones....like paper thin.
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 03:33 AM   #2173
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

what percent nitro do you have?
what is your piston to head clearence?(deck hight)
higher percentage nitro need more shims as a general rule.
auto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 09:06 AM   #2174
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

20% side-winder--Fuel
3-super thin shims--deck height.

So as an example:
30%-3 shims
20%-2 shims
10%-1 shim?
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2005, 11:43 AM   #2175
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,296
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I only run one shim on my cv. But I use the duratrax head. If I was you I'd try it out with 2, then again with one. You should check the piston clearance though with just one. Stick a piece of solder in there that is bent at a 90 at the end. Rotate piston up and see how much it compresses the solder. Mearsure that to see what the clearance is. Then see how far the plug sticks thru the bottom of the head.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loaded Serpent 710. Aaron Burans Previous Car! NitroMaxx3.3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-03-2008 05:42 AM
Aaron Bomia is an Excellent Seller! Luckyman4 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 0 06-25-2004 09:23 AM
AARON BOMIA = Great Trader Mart42 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 1 02-05-2004 08:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net