R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2010, 05:27 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
neorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default OS VZ-R Cylinder on VZ-B V-Spec

Hi, i've ordered a new Cylinder & Piston from my OS VZ-B V-Spec from an "Hong Kong" Ebay store, but i've received the Cylinder & Piston for VZ-R and not VZ-B.
The code is 23753000 instead of 22103010.
I've installed and started the motor for just 1 tank.
Everything seems good, but what could be happen?
Thanks

neorf
neorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:29 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

why would you install it, if it is not the one you wanted? I sure hope you like it
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:31 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Nothing will "happen" it will just perform differently. It has a higher port count and by design will have less bottom end and more top end RPM(onroad style).
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:40 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
neorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
why would you install it, if it is not the one you wanted? I sure hope you like it
i've installed because a my friend saw the new cylinder, and he told me that it was "OS SPEED Cylinder", i'm not so expert. But today, on web, i've discovered the difference...
Then i need my OS to be alive...
So, no prob using that?
thanks

neorf
neorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:45 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neorf View Post
i've installed because a my friend saw the new cylinder, and he told me that it was "OS SPEED Cylinder", i'm not so expert. But today, on web, i've discovered the difference...
Then i need my OS to be alive...
So, no prob using that?
thanks

neorf
I don't believe you will have a "problem" running it, but it may not perform to your liking for offroad. Or it could be the best thing since sliced bread. That's for you to decide. I say run it since you have it in there and already fired it up.
__________________
-Koby Kubrin-
Thanks to my Sponsors:
Serpent America | Team Novarossi | Desoto Racing | Race AKA | Ridgeway Bodies
JAMMINKRAZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:52 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
neorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

OK thanks...
so however for my Losi is better 13T with the "new" OS?
neorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:58 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
hambone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bloomsburg, Pa.
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The VZ-R and VZ-B share the same crankshaft so you basically have a VZ-R now. I saw the dyno results from the VZ-R at EB Mods shop and it was not bad but not something great for offroad unless you run on a huge open track. Both motors make close to the same power but the R made power at a higher rpm range which isn't so great for offroad since it's very down on power where we generally need it.
__________________
Rob Hamm
The Nitro Shop
Bones Motorsports
Answer-RC/TLR/Futaba
Snow Monkey Racing
hambone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 06:05 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
neorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

ok, but i'm in Italy, and we dont have so full of jumps tracks, unfortunately...
Tomorrow i'll try to test it...
Thanks however...

neorf
neorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
hambone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bloomsburg, Pa.
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nothing beats the track test. I had the same idea til Ed steered me away from it.
__________________
Rob Hamm
The Nitro Shop
Bones Motorsports
Answer-RC/TLR/Futaba
Snow Monkey Racing
hambone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:14 AM   #10
am
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,602
Default

Hi,

You will get an engine with a larger feulconsumption, not so good bottom end, because of the high exhaustport, and it may be difficult to drive, because of the power will get on quite strong when it kicks in. On a lareg track it may very well work good, but on a tight technicaal track, am am sorry but i do not think it will work so good.
am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 06:11 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
neorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

ok, so i've tried it and: not bad... really... maybe some little, but really little "less power" just when you have corner and immediately jump...
However 11 min with 1 tank.
So, at least according to me, it's good ;-)
neorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net