Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Help understanding nitro engines >

Help understanding nitro engines

Help understanding nitro engines

Old 11-22-2009, 01:35 PM
Tech Adept

Default Help understanding nitro engines

Dear all,

I am new to the rc nitro hobby and I am trying to learn whatever I can about nitro engines before I buy one. I will get the ney XB808 2010 and will race at my local track so its best for me to start learning stuff. I learned a bit from youtube watching explanatory videos on how an engine works and how to tune it but I dont know what to look for when choosing one.

What sould I look for in a .21 engine for a buggy? All I know is too much power is always bad!

Thanks for your input!
Old 11-22-2009, 02:08 PM
Tech Lord

The first engine with no experience will not have a long life. OK, it is hard to tell but you will never know if you are on the leane side and so shortening its life.

It is wise to choose a simple but effective engine for a reasonable price. The RB Killer-9, Picco P3 Basic, Novarossi N21B2002, Go, Alpha or even a simple Force will do the job within the 100 to 200 dollar range to get more experienced in driving and adjusting the engine.
When you think the engine has ended its life or you are sure to take a next step you can take a look to a more powerfull and competive engine.
Old 11-22-2009, 02:18 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

+1 what Roel said.

Pick up a relatively inexpensive "starter engine", the ones he recommended are all good choices. You'll get the hang of tuning & adjusting for performance without blowing a hole in your wallet if it dies while you're learning. After a while, you'll have a much better idea of what kind of engine fits your driving style and needs (low end grunt, mid torque, top end speed, etc) and can start looking at upgrading.
Old 11-22-2009, 05:22 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

i agree with what everyone else said.