Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 65 (97%+)
Default what does pinch motor mean

i am looking at a used motar and the guy said it was a good pinch motor
i am still learning the nitro side of rc
and for some reason the seller wnt explain "pinch"
Old 04-19-2010, 06:57 PM
Tech Regular

I could mean two things like as backup motor, if your in a pinch and need something to get you through its a good motor.

Or it could be that he said that the motor still has good pinch, meaning that
the fit of the piston and sleeve are still tight.
Old 04-19-2010, 07:03 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by RUNNINONMT
I could mean two things like as backup motor, if your in a pinch and need something to get you through its a good motor.

Or it could be that he said that the motor still has good pinch, meaning that
the fit of the piston and sleeve are still tight.
he said the motor has break in and two tanks and a great pinch left
Old 04-19-2010, 07:03 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)

Or, if it's already had several gallons of fuel through it, he could mean that it's a good motor to "pinch". In that case, it would mean having the sleeve pinched, which squeezes it in a special tool to make it undersized (allows a motor to re-gain lost compression by making the sleeve smaller).

There's nothing wrong with pinching a motor...you can do it a couple of times before needing a new piston/rod/sleeve.

Don't be afraid to ask the seller what he means...there's no such thing as a dumb question.
Old 04-19-2010, 07:08 PM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by Stubbs
Or, if it's already had several gallons of fuel through it, he could mean that it's a good motor to "pinch". In that case, it would mean having the sleeve pinched, which squeezes it in a special tool to make it undersized (allows a motor to re-gain lost compression by making the sleeve smaller).

There's nothing wrong with pinching a motor...you can do it a couple of times before needing a new piston/rod/sleeve.