R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2010, 04:05 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: C an ada
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default can I use a standard 3-shoe clutch on losi 8?

an I use a standard 3-shoe clutch on losi 8? like Xray's stuff or other brands if possible, have tried losi 4 shoe and orion CRF V6. but I still like to have a regualr 3 shoe clutch system.

thank you in advance.
NSLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:12 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Grimlock212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am pretty sure the answer is yes if you buy either a Losi http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ght-8ight-T-20 or King Headz Quick Release Motor Mount http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ge-Motor-Mount . Both have extra mounting holes for a 3 shoe.
__________________
Grimlock212
Losi 8ight 2.0: Clockwork Racing Engines JLR .21, Hitec 7955tg x2, Spektrum DX3S
Losi 8ight-T 2.0: Clockwork Racing Engines JLR .21, Hitec 7955tg x2, Spektrum DX3S
Losi Ten-T: 7/7/2, Kingpin tires, optional Losi Springs, Spektrum DX3S
Nor-Cal Hobbies: Union City, CA
Grimlock212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:19 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

WHY!
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:44 PM   #4
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,874
Default

my guess whould be he, wants to save a bit of money.
but yea i agree with you the 4 shoe,clutch gives you that extra rip so you can hit bigger jumps easier.
tc5 man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:47 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

you will need the losi quick mount and a Kyosho inferno 777 flywheel, been there done that, i actually like the 3 shoe setup better.
__________________
Rui Almeida
Hamilton, Ontario
CANADA
I am not sponsored, these are the products I chose to support.
Serpent SRX8, Sanwa M11s, Sanwa SRX-BX servos, Picco 5TB
RAlmeida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newcastle (England)
Posts: 110
Default

You do NOT need a quick change mount to use a standard clutch setup unless you want to use standard clutch bells.

The losi will work fine with most flywheels inc xray, jammin etc but you need to use the losi clutch bell. Its only the clutch bell thats 2mm longer, the losi flywheel is standard offset.
__________________
LOSI 8IGHT 2.0 ALIGN SERVO'S, RB C5bb,RB C6 L2G,PICCO P7R EVO2,
ASSOCIATED RC8T, NOVAROSSI .28 8PORT, SAVOX SERVOS.
CRT.5 SH .12,
damo666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:59 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: C an ada
Posts: 547
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

the reason is am going to use losi MACH 427 engine in summer. am not racing anymore, dunt want to carry extra start box. my LST spin start will work for both. I tried CRF V6 on Mach 427. it appeared that I need a lot of shims. I had bad installation experience w/ losi 4 shoe system. So am lookin for easy 3 shoe clutch system.

thx.
NSLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 06:54 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
sonyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default yes you can but....

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSLST View Post
an I use a standard 3-shoe clutch on losi 8? like Xray's stuff or other brands if possible, have tried losi 4 shoe and orion CRF V6. but I still like to have a regualr 3 shoe clutch system.

thank you in advance.
I got the same issue before, I cant start the car coz that losi flywheel kind a so little my starter box cant reach so I decided to mod it I used the ofna
38mm flywheel 3 pin and you can use mugen or jammin clutch bell . hope this can help.
sonyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
Losi Truggy rcfreak24 Nitro Off-Road 1884 12-27-2009 12:53 PM
JVD or Ascendancy Racing clutch system??? NeoNot Nitro Off-Road 20 09-01-2009 11:33 AM
LOSI 8b/8t 2.0 j8ight13 Nitro Off-Road 12 08-14-2009 01:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net