R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2010, 11:43 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default Different p/s/r in motors.."swapping parts"

Hey just wondering if you have a motor with bad rod or piston and sleeve or what have you...if you find a new rod from a different motor but its specs are the same is there a reason it wouldnt work?? i understand if you found a longer rod that it wouldnt work but if they were the same length or whatever can you swap parts..mainly due to the fact that some motors replacment parts are way more expensive then others???
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

I know people that yeild great results with swapinstien engines. I also know guys that have quit the hobby swapping internals because it never worked out for them. No matter what, when switching rods a break in procedure should be done. If your measurmants are correct and look to be same hopefully break in will go ok and things will work out fine. Myself i would only consider using same brand replacement internals. I have tried different rods in engines a couple times and either measurmant were off barely or way too much once i tried to assemble..
__________________
Mark Buecker
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 04:19 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
j_blaze14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,693
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

mutt motor, i believe that is how the fms was born, on road and off road parts together. i mutted sts and go motors before with ok results. give it a shot, if it does not run stop to save what you can.
__________________
aGama A8 EVO - Werks B2 - Sidewinder
aGama A8E - TrackStar 150a, 2560kv, 3 and 4 cell
FlySky GT3B, Turnigy HV servos, SKY Lipos
AKA, Proline, Hotbodies Rubber
Elite Performance - HORRC.com
j_blaze14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:30 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the replys ill give it a shot as its not my race motor anymore and have nothing to lose thanks guys!
__________________
In the middle of some changes
*702 RC Raceway* *WindWater Raceway*
trickedout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 12:04 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

go engines are roughly based on novarossi dimensions. i've heard a few times, people were trying gen5 go rods in nova/rb engines without problems. price difference is huge. i myself put an rb carb on my go 217pt 'cause i found it easier to tune.
__________________
MBX6R
B5M Lowrider
DEX410
Supastox GT
triplesix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net