R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2010, 07:38 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Starter box Lipo rewire help.

First of all - I race nitro - I know nothing about electronics or wiring so please bear with me.

I am going to rewire my Ofna Truggy Starter box to run lipo and i have some questions on the proper layout for wiring. I am not running a switch so this should be relatively simple. I am mostly concerned with getting the motors wired correctly so they turn the correct direction.

Here's what I have layed out so far...just want to make sure before I start soldering:

-Pos battery to the pressure switch
-other side of pressure switch to pos motor
-neg from same motor to pos of other motor
-neg from second motor to neg battery

Obviousley there will need to be a connector in there but is my wire routing correct? If I was to add a switch where would it go? I assume between the pos battery and pressure switch?

Thanks for your time.
HiVoltg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:02 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

looks right to me.

if you use the switch (which i recommend) you can put it on the positive lead between the battery and the pressure switch, or between the pressure switch and the motor. doesnt matter which way.
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 10:44 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

you want to go from POS on the motor to POS on the other motor two. Other wise the way you say POS to Neg they will turn opposite of each other. not good.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:23 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

From my limited wiring knowledge I thought they would need to be wired in series - pos to neg - like on a battery...
HiVoltg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:27 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The only thing you need to do is change the tammya plugs to deans, thats it.
and keep an eye on the voltage as you do not want to run them below 6.6v each battery or the will be toast
__________________
Rui Almeida
Hamilton, Ontario
CANADA
I am not sponsored, these are the products I chose to support.
Serpent SRX8, Sanwa M11s, Sanwa SRX-BX servos, Picco 5TB
RAlmeida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 12:21 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiVoltg12 View Post
From my limited wiring knowledge I thought they would need to be wired in series - pos to neg - like on a battery...
All i did was copy the old wiring route but used deans wet noodle 12ga wire. Heres a pic.



Thats going pos to pos and ground to ground. And it works great. Just skip the switch if you dont want it.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 12:26 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well...I'm glad I asked. That pic helps a lot.

Thanks!
HiVoltg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 12:33 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Twitchy Kanai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 79
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Twitchy Kanai
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiVoltg12 View Post
From my limited wiring knowledge I thought they would need to be wired in series - pos to neg - like on a battery...
Yes, you're correct. But other method will work also. I have mine wired in series.
__________________
KO Helios C2 with Spektrum Pro
Kyosho MP9: TecnoPower, Werks 2013, JR 9100S, JR 9100S
Kyosho ST-RR: RB Concepts WS7II 3X, Werks 2013. JR 9100S, JR9100T
Twitchy Kanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 12:57 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
shanty140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Do you have to change the wired out when getting it setup for Lipo? Or can you just run the stock setup with a Deans end on it? Just wondering because I just bought the OFNA blue starter box and plan to run it with Lipo.
__________________
Race Vehicles:
Mugen MBX6T - Ninja JX.21 with EB Mods Headbutton, O.S. 2060 Pipe, DX3R, Hitec 7955TG Servos on LiPo
HPI Cup Racer - Murfdogg Synergy 17.5, Tekin RS Pro, 2S 40C 4200mah, DX3R, Sav÷x SC-1251MG Servo
shanty140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 01:19 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been told that stock wiring is fine but it doesn't hurt to upgrade.

I plan to run 12 gauge deans wire and deans plugs.

So rider313's version is parallel and my original plan is series?

Which version would be better (power vs. runtime) or does it not matter?
HiVoltg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 01:27 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

remove the switch! Mine melted, I rewired everything, I've been using it for a year now, no problems on lipo direct.



__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 04:03 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I know i asked this in the other post about lipo starter boxes, but do you guys run a voltage indicator always connected to the battery when it is in the starter box or just run without it?

Just from some of the pics, I couldn't see any voltage indicators mounted there anywhere.
__________________
Mugen MBX7,

"I would rather lose going fast enough to win than win going fast enough to lose"
bucky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 04:21 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
shanty140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky1 View Post
I know i asked this in the other post about lipo starter boxes, but do you guys run a voltage indicator always connected to the battery when it is in the starter box or just run without it?

Just from some of the pics, I couldn't see any voltage indicators mounted there anywhere.
I don't run one. I just keep a close eye on the battery and make sure before each race it has enough power in the battery to last the day.
__________________
Race Vehicles:
Mugen MBX6T - Ninja JX.21 with EB Mods Headbutton, O.S. 2060 Pipe, DX3R, Hitec 7955TG Servos on LiPo
HPI Cup Racer - Murfdogg Synergy 17.5, Tekin RS Pro, 2S 40C 4200mah, DX3R, Sav÷x SC-1251MG Servo
shanty140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 04:26 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT


Heres a buzzer i use. its simple insurance for us forget full guys. Just plug it into your bind plug on the battery.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 04:30 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider313 View Post
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT


Heres a buzzer i use. its simple insurance for us forget full guys. Just plug it into your bind plug on the battery.
i got that same one too, but i was concerned with the lights staying on all the time that it would add to the battery depletion.
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starter Box BigRed Nitro Off-Road 18 10-29-2009 03:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net