R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2010, 03:05 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
bcarter007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 1,095
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default lipo for D8 and D8T?????

does anyone know the right lipo pack to get that will fit in the radio tray for a D8?? i got a protek one today and it doesnt fit im having a tough time finding the right one....if anyone know pls include the part number so i order the right one....thanks a bunch
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way!! Team Hotbodies Driver Hara D8 OS Speed XZB Hara Ed D8T OS Speed XZB Hara Ed Ve8 Tekin RX8 1400kv UP Grade Graphics Hitec DX3R PRO RayAracing.com RAPICON 30/9 Race Blend Jammin SCRT10 4x4 Tekin RX8 4.5T SMC Hotbodies Tires Thankyou HPI-Hotbodies & Pro-Line
bcarter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:26 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
supralative's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to supralative Send a message via Yahoo to supralative
Default

It will work with some massaging.
Dremel the inside around and it will work. I put a whole in the side of the box for the balance plug and leave the lipo in the compartment all the time.

This is the Protek battery in my buggy.
__________________
Son N.
www.hyperspeedmotorsports.com
www.oklahomanitroclub.com
supralative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:03 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I've got two of the following on order, should have em tomorrow. Dimensions are supposed to be 50x30x31 which is tick smaller than the Protek @ 55. Will keep you posted...

http://www.rcplanet.com/Venom_LiPo_2...p/vnr15001.htm
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:13 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroOB4You View Post
I've got two of the following on order, should have em tomorrow. Dimensions are supposed to be 50x30x31 which is tick smaller than the Protek @ 55. Will keep you posted...

http://www.rcplanet.com/Venom_LiPo_2...p/vnr15001.htm
i think the only thing thats gonna get you is the 31mm on the height. let us know
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:59 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dalton, Ga.
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 110 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroOB4You View Post
I've got two of the following on order, should have em tomorrow. Dimensions are supposed to be 50x30x31 which is tick smaller than the Protek @ 55. Will keep you posted...

http://www.rcplanet.com/Venom_LiPo_2...p/vnr15001.htm
Ive tried one and i couldnt get it to work, it works great without the servo mount...i didnt do any dremel work. please lmk if you get it to work...
P.LOWERY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:18 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I'm checking things with my calipers and I can see what you are suggesting. The Rx box opening is approx 47mm. Once open, minus the servo mount it is more. Not sure what, but more. But I have something entirely different in mind , that judging by my cailpers it will work w/o any dremeling. ...will keep you posted if I get this tomorrow.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:44 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
kgombe's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,177
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

all you got to do is put the servo mount in after you place the battery in.. thats how i got the 2100 reedy battery to fit.... no dremel needed
kgombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:47 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 190
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

go to ebay ,put in 7.4 lipo battery,you should find them they are 1000mah,i zip tied and y connected 2 packs together and it fits in my rc8b,which i think is the same. so far there working well.got 6 two cell packs(now there 3) for 35.00 or so shipped. they have the size right in the ad.
bigguyrc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:42 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
willbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

D8 or D8T Thread then use the search feature vs starting a new thread.

Ton of great knowledge right there.

Robotronics and common sense rc. Search the posts with those 2 tags.
__________________
HB D812, HB D8T, HB D812E, HB D413, HPI Blitz SC, Losi 22 & 22T
Special Thanks to:
HotBodies/HPI Racing, Upgrade RC, OS Speed, Sidewinder Fuels, Hitec
Proudly using: Spektrum DX4R, Viper-RC Electronics, Reedy Batteries, & Pro-Line
Cancer Sucks
willbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:48 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
bcarter007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 1,095
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default thx

thanks i appreciate some of the help from u guys....as for starting a new thread who gives a s--t!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way!! Team Hotbodies Driver Hara D8 OS Speed XZB Hara Ed D8T OS Speed XZB Hara Ed Ve8 Tekin RX8 1400kv UP Grade Graphics Hitec DX3R PRO RayAracing.com RAPICON 30/9 Race Blend Jammin SCRT10 4x4 Tekin RX8 4.5T SMC Hotbodies Tires Thankyou HPI-Hotbodies & Pro-Line
bcarter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 05:02 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcarter007 View Post
does anyone know the right lipo pack to get that will fit in the radio tray for a D8?? i got a protek one today and it doesnt fit im having a tough time finding the right one....if anyone know pls include the part number so i order the right one....thanks a bunch
I have a Protek 2100mah in my truggy. Was a tight fit, but it does fit. I notched the box like Supra did to allow for easier charging..

I am picking up a 2300mah this weekend, and will let you know how it fits..
BTW to get the battery in you have to remove the mount for the throttle servo.. install batt and then reinstall the servo mount.. I believe Tony Newland removed shrink wrap to allow for a bit more room.. It is that tight!! But it will go..
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 05:37 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Common sense lipo install is on pg 422 d8 thread
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:04 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
RC-BATT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: INDY
Posts: 353
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Bryce i got the common sense to fit in my D8, i had to do some dremmeling and its very snug, but works...
__________________
Mugen MBX7R//rw-mods.com
REX Racing//Futaba//Hitec//Pro Match Racing
Darkside Designs//Rapicon Race Fuels
JPC The Midwest Monster
RC-BATT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 07:02 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
bcarter007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Plainfield, IN
Posts: 1,095
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default ok

ok thanks guys ill try it..
__________________
Rangers Lead the Way!! Team Hotbodies Driver Hara D8 OS Speed XZB Hara Ed D8T OS Speed XZB Hara Ed Ve8 Tekin RX8 1400kv UP Grade Graphics Hitec DX3R PRO RayAracing.com RAPICON 30/9 Race Blend Jammin SCRT10 4x4 Tekin RX8 4.5T SMC Hotbodies Tires Thankyou HPI-Hotbodies & Pro-Line
bcarter007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 07:57 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Common sense 1700 in mine as well! Like previously mentioned it takes a bit of work but it will fit. I think it's height is only 27 or 28 so I'd be curious to know how the 31 is going to work out. If you follow the instructions on page 422 of the d8 thread you can't go wrong getting the common sense lipo in there! Well worth the time it takes to get it installed!
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies D8 Truggy Greg B Nitro Off-Road 10028 08-16-2017 05:44 PM
What RX Lipo fits a HotBodies D8T? Brodie-72 Nitro Off-Road 30 10-31-2010 06:26 AM
Misc Items for sale lipo batteries/charger/switch w/regulator will g R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 12-27-2009 02:16 PM
full race sellout d8,d8t,mgt.ad2.b4,transponders jbright33 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-15-2009 06:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net