R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2010, 02:56 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Proper beer garden over looking the beach :-)
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default What RX Lipo fits a HotBodies D8T?

I've been looking all over, & can't find one that fits. So far i've tried the following;

ProTek RC 2300mah = too big
Reedy 2100mah = only slightly too big

Suggestions will be most welcome, thanks!
__________________
www.serpent.com / www.novarossi.it / www.kopropo.com / www.racekbrl.com / redrock hobbies / one hobbies / Fear Farm / www.scottsdalercspeedway.com / www.clinehobbies.com / www.glitchrc.com / www.cornishpastyco.com
Brodie-72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 03:06 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
thrash metal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: toronto,canada
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default lipo receiver battery to fit the d8t

you can also add the pro match 2s 2300 mah to your list of batteries that will not fit the d8t. i ordered 2 of these after a rep from pro match assured me they would fit and alas they werent even close to fitting


the only one that will fit that i have found so far is the robotronic 2s 1500 lipo. its nice and compact and fits the d8t box perfectly. they are about 40 bucks a piece.

great batteries with really good runtime.
__________________
HOTBODIES TEAM DRIVER
BALLISTIC RACING
FASTLANE GRAPHIX
HOTBODIES D8T, VE8 AND CYCLONE D4 WCE
www.hotbodiesonline.com
thrash metal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:21 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
wallot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 870
Default

Robitronic and Nosram 1500mah fit. they are same packs.
__________________
DEX408 - Speed Passion Silver Arrow v2, LRP Dynamic 8
Dex410 V3 - Tekin RS Pro, 7.5t Redline
F1-09 - Tekin RS Pro, 17.5t Redline
Sakura Zero S - LRP Quantum, Saturn 20T
KoPropo Eurus
wallot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:53 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
kgombe's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,177
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie-72 View Post
I've been looking all over, & can't find one that fits. So far i've tried the following;

ProTek RC 2300mah = too big
Reedy 2100mah = only slightly too big

Suggestions will be most welcome, thanks!
i got the reedy 2100 to fit.... if you take the little plastic piece that you have to screw down on the battery box... then put the battery in first you should be good...
kgombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:56 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallot View Post
Robitronic and Nosram 1500mah fit. they are same packs.
any ideas where you can find one. ive been looking all over, and i cant find any
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 08:29 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,764
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgombe View Post
i got the reedy 2100 to fit.... if you take the little plastic piece that you have to screw down on the battery box... then put the battery in first you should be good...
Exactly, same thing with the Protek 2100-2300.... ran them all last year and in my cars again for this year. I also clip off the balance plug for extra room and add a piece of foam on the bottom for a cushon. I can take a picture tonight with it in there
__________________
Schumacher Factory Team - Core RC - Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - Bellgate Distributors - Jconcepts - www.Prime-hobby.com - IRCR
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:41 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Proper beer garden over looking the beach :-)
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallot View Post
Robitronic and Nosram 1500mah fit. they are same packs.
Couldn't find Robitronic's pack, but i found a Nosram 1700mah but not the 1500mah.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgombe View Post
i got the reedy 2100 to fit.... if you take the little plastic piece that you have to screw down on the battery box... then put the battery in first you should be good...
Already tried this, its tighter than a..."......fill in blanks..."
__________________
www.serpent.com / www.novarossi.it / www.kopropo.com / www.racekbrl.com / redrock hobbies / one hobbies / Fear Farm / www.scottsdalercspeedway.com / www.clinehobbies.com / www.glitchrc.com / www.cornishpastyco.com
Brodie-72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:49 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
RC Pro Aus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 223
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to RC Pro Aus
Default

http://www.lrp.cc/en/products/vtec-b...y-74v/details/

Got them in mine last all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
WWW.RCPROPRODUCTS.COM , TECNOPOWER MOTOR, JVD-RC, DIALED INC
RC Pro Aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:56 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
supralative's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to supralative Send a message via Yahoo to supralative
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie-72 View Post
I've been looking all over, & can't find one that fits. So far i've tried the following;

ProTek RC 2300mah = too big
Reedy 2100mah = only slightly too big

Suggestions will be most welcome, thanks!
I use the exact two packs you just posted.
ProTek in the buggy and Reedy in the truggy.
I dremeled the inside of the box to fit the ProTek and put an opening in the side for the balance plug.
For the Reedy I dremeled the plastic piece that holds the throttle servo mount abit, and put an opening for the balance plug also on the side.
I leave my batteries inside all the time, but still open the top to check on them whenever I do a teardown and rebuild. NO issues for over a year on the buggy and half year on the truggy.
I just switched over to digital servos with HRS no longer run a regulator also.
__________________
Son N.
www.hyperspeedmotorsports.com
www.oklahomanitroclub.com
supralative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 12:20 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Proper beer garden over looking the beach :-)
Posts: 478
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Pro Aus View Post
http://www.lrp.cc/en/products/vtec-b...y-74v/details/

Got them in mine last all day long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
where can i buy one??
__________________
www.serpent.com / www.novarossi.it / www.kopropo.com / www.racekbrl.com / redrock hobbies / one hobbies / Fear Farm / www.scottsdalercspeedway.com / www.clinehobbies.com / www.glitchrc.com / www.cornishpastyco.com
Brodie-72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 08:36 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,764
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Pic of a Protek 2300 installed..... been running this one for about a year. I didnt dremel anything, The heat shrink has been removed, it fits snug, but its like bolting on a hard case....

http://i470.photobucket.com/albums/r...D8T2010006.jpg
__________________
Schumacher Factory Team - Core RC - Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - Bellgate Distributors - Jconcepts - www.Prime-hobby.com - IRCR
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 11:59 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,301
Default

At the end of this month we have the lifep04 batterys 1100mah available for the D8 .we have about 50 as thats all we could get over the chinese new year if you are interested please send us an email and pre order

teamcobraracing@gmail.com

thank you for your time
__________________
Email : teamcobraracing@gmail.com or ae@hobbywing.com
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:16 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie-72 View Post
I've been looking all over, & can't find one that fits. So far i've tried the following;

ProTek RC 2300mah = too big
Reedy 2100mah = only slightly too big

Suggestions will be most welcome, thanks!
Try the Reedy 1600
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:45 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by COBRARACING View Post
At the end of this month we have the lifep04 batterys 1100mah available for the D8 .we have about 50 as thats all we could get over the chinese new year if you are interested please send us an email and pre order

teamcobraracing@gmail.com

thank you for your time


Angelo, Only 1.100mah ?, how much runtime we can squeeze out of them ?, im using on GT Class a 1.450mah one and im very happy ... locally here our a-mains in buggy and truggy are 45 to 60 minutes long, 1.100mah would do it ?

You know im first on the list lol !!, i need 2 batts ...

thanks !
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : pato_concha@yahoo.com
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 06:42 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

i do 2 qualifiers and a main on my 1100mah. But i guess thats about 25-30 minutes of run time.
__________________
XT8 - Werks B5
Hyper 10SC Novak PRO ESC 4.5HV
Madbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net