R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2010, 08:04 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: mobile alabama
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default rebuild for v-spec

i am going to install a new piston and sleeve,also tko ceramics(front and rear)and new speed rod...the question is,after i have done this do i need to set the carb back to factory setting's and retune or will i be all right with my setting's the way they are and break it in...sounds dumb once i have read this,but i think i should reset,break in,then race tune...thanx in advance guy's...man this site is so informative....
dhunt488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:22 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
marshon50's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 892
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Definitely needs to be re-broken in. I may even do the break in w/ the old rod provided it isn't in bad shape, then put in the new rod after 1/2 gallon or so.....
marshon50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 10:20 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
gkn0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default vspec

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhunt488 View Post
i am going to install a new piston and sleeve,also tko ceramics(front and rear)and new speed rod...the question is,after i have done this do i need to set the carb back to factory setting's and retune or will i be all right with my setting's the way they are and break it in...sounds dumb once i have read this,but i think i should reset,break in,then race tune...thanx in advance guy's...man this site is so informative....
Yes put needle settings back to factory and follow the break in bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...reak-bible.htm

after that is done follow the tuning bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...ing-bible.html

also you said you are going to replace the rod with a speed rod not a good idea if your engine is a plain v spec The two engine have different ways of oiling the rod threw the crank just a heads up If you want to use the speed rod you have to use the speed crank i could be wrong but im pretty sure they are different this help good luck
__________________
Glenn Nail

STRC LCG Slash looking for electronics

1985 Associated RC 10 Novak t4 Trinity Monster Horsepower 27T futaba Jr
gkn0315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 10:40 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkn0315 View Post
Yes put needle settings back to factory and follow the break in bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...reak-bible.htm

after that is done follow the tuning bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...ing-bible.html

also you said you are going to replace the rod with a speed rod not a good idea if your engine is a plain v spec The two engine have different ways of oiling the rod threw the crank just a heads up If you want to use the speed rod you have to use the speed crank i could be wrong but im pretty sure they are different this help good luck
you are wrong. you can use the speed rod w/ vspec crank but if you use the speed crank you must use the speed rod
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 11:55 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,078
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Almost every v-spec I've seen the crank is the first thing that needs replacement. Be sure to check the crank pin. If the motor is just low on compression I would just resize the sleeve, way cheaper and no break in. I only charge $15.00, you could take the $ and put it toward a speed cank.

Rex
__________________
Rw modding and engine repair http://www.rw-mods.com
Sleeve resizing $15.00/ motor rebuild $30.00
Argus engine distributor/Avid bearings/ Alpha engines/
Fx Royal engines/ Maxy Engines
e-mail rwmods@yahoo.com Rex Welch
22Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:27 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 22Racer View Post
Almost every v-spec I've seen the crank is the first thing that needs replacement. Be sure to check the crank pin. If the motor is just low on compression I would just resize the sleeve, way cheaper and no break in. I only charge $15.00, you could take the $ and put it toward a speed cank.

Rex
+1
__________________
The only thing that is "still like new" is the box it came in..
Only a half gallon through it my Ass!
helivaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:56 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
JBURCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampton Va
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhunt488 View Post
i am going to install a new piston and sleeve,also tko ceramics(front and rear)and new speed rod...the question is,after i have done this do i need to set the carb back to factory setting's and retune or will i be all right with my setting's the way they are and break it in...sounds dumb once i have read this,but i think i should reset,break in,then race tune...thanx in advance guy's...man this site is so informative....
I would personally send the mill to The Speed Shop and Alan Burton, he will get you right and at a great price and its not far from you lol
JBURCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 05:27 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
MontanaMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhunt488 View Post
i am going to install a new piston and sleeve,also tko ceramics(front and rear)and new speed rod...the question is,after i have done this do i need to set the carb back to factory setting's and retune or will i be all right with my setting's the way they are and break it in...sounds dumb once i have read this,but i think i should reset,break in,then race tune...thanx in advance guy's...man this site is so informative....
new piston and sleeve definately set to factory specs for brake in to get plenty of lubrication

Quote:
Originally Posted by marshon50 View Post
Definitely needs to be re-broken in. I may even do the break in w/ the old rod provided it isn't in bad shape, then put in the new rod after 1/2 gallon or so.....
+1 on the old rod for break in as it puts alot of stress on the rod

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkn0315 View Post
Yes put needle settings back to factory and follow the break in bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...reak-bible.htm

after that is done follow the tuning bible here is a link

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...ing-bible.html

also you said you are going to replace the rod with a speed rod not a good idea if your engine is a plain v spec The two engine have different ways of oiling the rod threw the crank just a heads up If you want to use the speed rod you have to use the speed crank i could be wrong but im pretty sure they are different this help good luck
you need a speed crank for a speed rod

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
you are wrong. you can use the speed rod w/ vspec crank but if you use the speed crank you must use the speed rod
I do believe this is bass akwards as the speed crank has the oil hole and the rod does not so the speed crank and standard rod with oil hole would give you double oil
MontanaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 05:48 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,078
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Losi Racer has it right!

Rex
__________________
Rw modding and engine repair http://www.rw-mods.com
Sleeve resizing $15.00/ motor rebuild $30.00
Argus engine distributor/Avid bearings/ Alpha engines/
Fx Royal engines/ Maxy Engines
e-mail rwmods@yahoo.com Rex Welch
22Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 05:51 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
offr0aden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: An Offroad track near you!!
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontanaMaxx View Post
I do believe this is bass akwards as the speed crank has the oil hole and the rod does not so the speed crank and standard rod with oil hole would give you double oil
I'm holding a v-spec crank in my hand right now - and the v-spec has the oilier in the crank and the v-spec rod does NOT have the oilier hole in it.

The Speed Crank does NOT have the oilier in the crank but DOES have the oilier in the Speed Con Rod.

So - YES - you can use the Speed rod on the v-spec crank and it would provide some additional oiling. If you use the v-spec Rod on the Speed crank you will burn up the crank pretty quickly as it will have minimum oiling.

Also the benefit of using the speed crank is the knife like cut on the shaft of the rod. The v-spec has a bit more meat and square cut.

Hope that helps - I would set the needles to factory and break it in as if it were a new engine.
__________________
- Team -
"High Speed and Clean"
offr0aden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 06:10 PM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: mobile alabama
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

guys got it all put back together,installed a new crank,rex you was right about the crank pin....it was def. worn..got new tko bearing's,new piston and sleeve,new speed rod,new vspec crank(called a buddy who had one)new wrist pinand clips...it is now def. a new motor...what a experiance....now the only prob. is i can't find my manuel,so you guessed it,what are the factory setting's...again thanx for all the responses guy's,yall have been a huge help here....
dhunt488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 06:12 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
offr0aden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: An Offroad track near you!!
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here you go -

NEEDLE SETTINGS:
High Speed - (see pg 17 of manual) 3 turns OUT from fully closed
Metering Needle - (see pg 22 of manual) Head of screw is flush with
ball link body
Mixture Control Valve - (see pg 22 of manual) Head of screw is 1 full
turn IN from flush with carb body
__________________
- Team -
"High Speed and Clean"
offr0aden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 02:02 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: mobile alabama
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default chapter two

well,i have ran 1 1/2 tanks and it is doing great...i am using the heat cycle method...keeping it right around 200*/210*...will idle for days...about to fire it up again,into the 10min. mark....will keep posted..again,thanx guy's....
dhunt488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 05:23 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
MontanaMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by offr0aden View Post
I'm holding a v-spec crank in my hand right now - and the v-spec has the oilier in the crank and the v-spec rod does NOT have the oilier hole in it.

The Speed Crank does NOT have the oilier in the crank but DOES have the oilier in the Speed Con Rod.

So - YES - you can use the Speed rod on the v-spec crank and it would provide some additional oiling. If you use the v-spec Rod on the Speed crank you will burn up the crank pretty quickly as it will have minimum oiling.

Also the benefit of using the speed crank is the knife like cut on the shaft of the rod. The v-spec has a bit more meat and square cut.

Hope that helps - I would set the needles to factory and break it in as if it were a new engine.
Good info i knew it was something like that
MontanaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
v-spec vs jpx.21 engine comparison Bulldawg RC Nitro Off-Road 36 04-23-2009 09:16 AM
V-spec owners, question for ya... Furadi Nitro Off-Road 29 07-02-2008 04:33 PM
Differences between o.s speed .21 v-spec speed alum and magnesium. Hans_Andersson Nitro Off-Road 11 06-23-2008 05:02 PM
my V-Spec blew up Nik Nitro Off-Road 65 03-11-2008 01:45 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net