R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2010, 04:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
DR ZAIRUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 201
Default How do YOU measure camber??

OK!! I know it sounds like a dumb question, but sometimes when you get down to the details is when things get interesting.

I have observed there seems to be two main "schools" in camber-measuring:

a) You put the car on the ground RTR, press the chasis to the ground and let go. Then you measure camber.

b) You put your car on blocks (or starter box) so the wheels are hanging down lose, with full shock extension. Then you measure.

Obviously, these two measurementes might or might not be the same, depending on your buggy's desingn and setup, so....What method do you use and why??

Also,when we see the pro's setup sheets and they say "X" degrees of camber...witch of the two methods did they use to measure camber??
__________________
Hong Nor/Jammin' X2
Picco P7 Evo3+JP3
Futaba+KO Propo.
TEAM www.fisio-sport.com
(Valencia, Spain)
DR ZAIRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:35 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Im not sure about the pro's but the gauge I bought had instructions and said to pick the front up a couple inches and drop it a few time to settle it down, then take your measurments. As long as you do it the same way each time your good.
__________________
XT8 - Werks B5
Hyper 10SC Novak PRO ESC 4.5HV
Madbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:39 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

i drop my car ready to run full tank of fuel from about a foot over the table, (the drake method) and mesure camber that way.
__________________
Marcus P.
\\Speedzone USA//Savox USA\\Caster Racing Parts//
www.speedzoneusa.com. www.casterracingparts.com
smokinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

measure them with the axles level.
__________________
The only thing that is "still like new" is the box it came in..
Only a half gallon through it my Ass!
helivaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:46 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H99PKqsUZjA
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:56 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I've tried it every way imaginable and thought I was pretty good at it. I bought a setup station and wow was I off. Setup station is the way to go, it's the only way you can accurately get the same setting every time.
pickle311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 07:27 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,979
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

before I got my setup station, i did option "A" with a camber guage. As far as option "B" goes, it doesnt sound right for adjusting camber since your ride is not sitting at rest. What you described in "B" sounds like someone was measuring droop.

Here is one of many setup guides ( i personally learned a lot from this one, in fact I have a copy in my pit bag for reference)... http://users.telenet.be/elvo/
__________________
Team Tekno Canadian Team Manager
Team Hitec
portyansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 07:53 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
MontanaMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinu View Post
i drop my car ready to run full tank of fuel from about a foot over the table, (the drake method) and mesure camber that way.
yes i have to say the drake method is pretty good thats what i use and works great
MontanaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 08:15 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I all was start with the Hudy set-up station
I also have a RPM camber gauge the only thing that
I can say is to do it the same way each time so
you will have a better handle on the whole thing
and at lest be constant all the time be it wrong or right
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 02:39 AM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Wales UK
Posts: 43
Default

I had a Hudy set up station & yes a great bit of kit when a car is brand new but in my opinion an absolute waste of time when a car has slop in it, i found it very frustrating to use, as measurements would change at the slightest movement. and running on most rough uk tracks our cars develop 'slop' pretty quickly.
also if you measure camber with a guage the tyres need to be glued spot on all the way round the rim otherwise the camber reading is not true
__________________
Losi 2.0 B Novarossi plus 4
Losi 2.0 B....in the making ; )....sold due to crazy UK brca lipo ruling : (
x Factory x6 sQ
los2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:07 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smb17 View Post
Good one!
__________________
MBX-6
Caster MK2 / N21BF / P5XLT H.E.S.
casevac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:52 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
DR ZAIRUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Posts: 201
Default

Thanks or the tips, guys!! I love elvo's guide. emailed with him a few times. great guy!!

Drake's vid (and related ones are great!! Showing the kind of practical stuff you can't find in manuals, so it fillsin the gaps!!
__________________
Hong Nor/Jammin' X2
Picco P7 Evo3+JP3
Futaba+KO Propo.
TEAM www.fisio-sport.com
(Valencia, Spain)
DR ZAIRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 04:00 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
gameholic2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 349
Default

Camber is best set after the ride height, I used to end up with weird camber settings because i would always end up raising or lowering the ride height at the track
So now i run a couple of laps, optimize my ride height, then set the camber.
gameholic2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 05:08 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
MontanaMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Yeah have to agree set up station is a waste on off road for on road maybe more practical but as was explained to me that the track is rough and always changing slightly and the very small difference will go unnoticed but yes bottom line is to go through your proceedure and do it the same everytime you set up your car to be consistant if you found your setting to noto work then you can change it slightly but if you dont do it the same then you will never know.
MontanaMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setup Station vs Camber Square cjmonkey Electric On-Road 15 07-14-2009 09:00 AM
do most of thease car kits squat in the rear? dreaux Nitro Off-Road 9 04-12-2009 07:44 PM
Calculating static Camber and toe PseudoScience Electric On-Road 20 02-19-2007 06:46 AM
How do you measure your 1/8 tires? Wanabrc Nitro On-Road 18 09-14-2006 05:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net