R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2010, 01:27 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to justinlogue5_0
Default RC controller frequency???

Me and my buddies do a lot of bashing together and we make sure all our chips are different so we don't have any problems with one controller controling some one elses truck. Now we are getting more and more people hanging out with us so I am wondering what can I do to not worry about interfering with some one elses truck. Is it a speacial controller and receiver that lets me put in my own frequency number or what??? Thanks.
__________________
OOOHHHH!!!!!! Thats Gonna Leave A Mark!!
justinlogue5_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:38 PM   #2
lk
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 72
Default

Pick up a 2.4ghz radio system. Most of them include around 100 different frequency's that automatically change if they find another radio using the same freq. The cheaper brand is spectrum and the higher line is futaba or ko propo.
lk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:43 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
yuppi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sunshine Coast
Posts: 661
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

+1 2.4 ghz radio, there is plenty of cheaper ones if your just bashing.
yuppi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:55 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to justinlogue5_0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lk View Post
Pick up a 2.4ghz radio system. Most of them include around 100 different frequency's that automatically change if they find another radio using the same freq. The cheaper brand is spectrum and the higher line is futaba or ko propo.
I just saw where Traxxas makes one now.

traxxas 2.4 ghz radio

includes

2 channel radio

5 channel reciever

has endpoint adjustments and dual rate steering

requires no crystals

uses only 4 batteries

Is this like what your talking about or is it supposed to have a digital screen telling me whats going on? I don't want to buy the wrong one .
__________________
OOOHHHH!!!!!! Thats Gonna Leave A Mark!!
justinlogue5_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 01:59 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinlogue5_0 View Post
I just saw where Traxxas makes one now.

traxxas 2.4 ghz radio

includes

2 channel radio

5 channel reciever

has endpoint adjustments and dual rate steering

requires no crystals

uses only 4 batteries

Is this like what your talking about or is it supposed to have a digital screen telling me whats going on? I don't want to buy the wrong one .
you want a 2.4ghz radio system. doesnt matter what brand/type you get. its the 2.4 you want

edit: yeah, that traxxas one is what youre looking for. you can find higher/lower priced variants, but like i said, 2.4ghz is what you want
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:02 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinlogue5_0 View Post
I just saw where Traxxas makes one now.

traxxas 2.4 ghz radio

includes

2 channel radio

5 channel reciever

has endpoint adjustments and dual rate steering

requires no crystals

uses only 4 batteries

Is this like what your talking about or is it supposed to have a digital screen telling me whats going on? I don't want to buy the wrong one .
The 2.4ghz is one way or if your looking for a cheaper way Tower hobbies offer a radio frequency checker for $4.99 if your looking for a quick fix hears the link: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJUP3&P=7
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:29 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jeromesville, Ohio
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Keep an eye on the classified section and maybe post in the wanted section. I have seen a few of the traxxas 2.4 systems pulled from brand new 4x4 slashes and put up for sale.
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:43 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Is this like what your talking about or is it supposed to have a digital screen telling me whats going on? I don't want to buy the wrong one .
The Traxxas system will eliminate any frequency conflicts because it is the "2.4 sread spectrum band". Basically it searches the "band" for open channels and picks one that is not in use. ............But.....it does limit you to one vehicle. In other words: 1 radio and 1 reciever. most of the other mfgs that use the 2.4 allow you to "bind" 1 radio with a bunch of different recievers so you only need 1 radio (transmitter).
Some allow 1 reciever (like the traxxas one) but you can get some that will hold up to 30 different recievers. More options= more money.
tmaxxdaddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 03:18 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to justinlogue5_0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmaxxdaddy1 View Post
The Traxxas system will eliminate any frequency conflicts because it is the "2.4 sread spectrum band". Basically it searches the "band" for open channels and picks one that is not in use. ............But.....it does limit you to one vehicle. In other words: 1 radio and 1 reciever. most of the other mfgs that use the 2.4 allow you to "bind" 1 radio with a bunch of different recievers so you only need 1 radio (transmitter).
Some allow 1 reciever (like the traxxas one) but you can get some that will hold up to 30 different recievers. More options= more money.
I think I understand it now. If I wanted to drive more than one RC truck with one of the fancy controllers that has up to 8 channel memory. All I would need to do is buy more receivers for each vehicle, right?
__________________
OOOHHHH!!!!!! Thats Gonna Leave A Mark!!
justinlogue5_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 03:20 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

get an Eurgle.

fantastic for the price, and if its just for playing, its more than you'll ever need!

8 vehicle memory, fairly simple to setup, and lots of adjustments possible
__________________
My cheapo brushless buggy.. and some other thing :p

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9525/squashed.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2353/26825179.jpg
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6968/49855578.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:00 PM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to justinlogue5_0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
get an Eurgle.

fantastic for the price, and if its just for playing, its more than you'll ever need!

8 vehicle memory, fairly simple to setup, and lots of adjustments possible
I was actually looking at one of these. How do you make it work for more than one RC truck?
__________________
OOOHHHH!!!!!! Thats Gonna Leave A Mark!!
justinlogue5_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:43 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
fattyalan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 89
Default

you could get the Spektrum DX3R....it is only $99.99...great radio for bashing...and it is also 2.4 freq.
fattyalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinlogue5_0 View Post
I was actually looking at one of these. How do you make it work for more than one RC truck?
you simply "bind" each receiver to the transmitter.

the transmitter will then control each receiver its paired with, but it won't control anyone elses.

you can then setup a profile for each receiver, setting different end points for throttle travel, trim settings, throttle and brake curves, etc, and select which profile you want to use when you're using that vehicle

I have 4 vehicle, with 5 profiles setup.

the reason being, that I have a "full" mode, and a "learner" mode for my brushless buggy, that dumbs down the throttle and brake/reverse, so its only about 1/3rd as fast
__________________
My cheapo brushless buggy.. and some other thing :p

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9525/squashed.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2353/26825179.jpg
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6968/49855578.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:13 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to justinlogue5_0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmmoJammo View Post
you simply "bind" each receiver to the transmitter.

the transmitter will then control each receiver its paired with, but it won't control anyone elses.

you can then setup a profile for each receiver, setting different end points for throttle travel, trim settings, throttle and brake curves, etc, and select which profile you want to use when you're using that vehicle

I have 4 vehicle, with 5 profiles setup.

the reason being, that I have a "full" mode, and a "learner" mode for my brushless buggy, that dumbs down the throttle and brake/reverse, so its only about 1/3rd as fast
Thanks for the help, I think I got it now.
__________________
OOOHHHH!!!!!! Thats Gonna Leave A Mark!!
justinlogue5_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:54 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinlogue5_0 View Post
Thanks for the help, I think I got it now.
if you have any questions, feel free to ask here, or send me a private message

I don't know the Eurgle as well as some other do, but I've used it a fair bit, and for the price, it can't be beat.

maybe its not perfect if you're wanting precision racing, but then can you justify spending $300 for a 2.4ghz radio that is?

plus, the extra Eurgle 3 channel receivers are only like $12 posted, how can you go wrong! I have four lol
__________________
My cheapo brushless buggy.. and some other thing :p

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9525/squashed.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2353/26825179.jpg
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6968/49855578.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 10:20 PM
RC's Stuffs Buy and Sell Hobby Peoples Indonesia Racing 5810 12-28-2016 12:10 AM
RC FLIGHT brading Manila Racers 23110 12-24-2015 06:23 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 01:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net