R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2010, 09:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE florida
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Servos are kinda tweaking out on me?

i was trying to figure out why my servos keep tweaking out on me. for example when i steer one way or hit the throttle it will glitch and make some movement i didn't tell it to.
The only thing i can thing of as the problem is the throttle servo arm. I Have a metal servo arm on it which i have never seen before. looks home made.( bought the truck used) It does this mainky when on the starter box but also a little while just running the truck.
Is this caused since the servo is touching metal? the linkage is metal along with the gears in the servo and the motor, so could that be it?
any help would be appreciated thanks
__________________
www.rc-international-speedways.com

Associated B4 with novak GTB and Velociti 7.5
Corally RDX with tekin r1 and redline 13.5
Preston777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default maybe

I had the problem before and I fixed it by putting shrink tubing on the brake rods coming from the servo arm to prevent them from touching the levers that are pulled to apply the brakes. The ones curled around to make a hole. Check over the radio gear, take it all out, inspect the wires and make sure the wires aren't being flattened or damaged. Reinstal the wires and keep it clean and use foam to keep everything happy in the radio box, make sure the plugs in the reciever are ok too. Sometimes it's something little that can cause problems.
__________________
Mad Dog drives a Mugen MBX-7, Novarossi engines, Clockwork Racing, Futaba radio, AKA/Proline Tires
merdith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:11 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE florida
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

thanks, i'll check all that stuff. hopefully it stops messing up on me
__________________
www.rc-international-speedways.com

Associated B4 with novak GTB and Velociti 7.5
Corally RDX with tekin r1 and redline 13.5
Preston777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:12 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Cameron Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,723
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the receiver is not full of dirt and that the antenna wire is on touching graphite or aluminum.
Cameron Kellogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,866
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preston777 View Post
thanks, i'll check all that stuff. hopefully it stops messing up on me


do you run the speckum, system cause it should prevent that?
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:46 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,121
Trader Rating: 42 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to RockStar_199 Send a message via MSN to RockStar_199 Send a message via Yahoo to RockStar_199
Default

Also what brand of servos are they........JR's have been known to do this
RockStar_199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:45 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NE florida
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

yeah im running spektrum, and my streering servo is jr but it doesn't do it as bad as the throttle servo which is airtronics. im about to get rid of these and get some hitec servos anyway
__________________
www.rc-international-speedways.com

Associated B4 with novak GTB and Velociti 7.5
Corally RDX with tekin r1 and redline 13.5
Preston777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:46 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,979
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

This may seem like a weird question, but does this happen when you walk away from the car with your radio? Sometimes when you are too close that happens, i know weird. Try it and see what happens, about 10ft should be plenty.
__________________
Team Tekno Canadian Team Manager
Team Hitec
portyansky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:53 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

It's common to see this sort of thing on the box. The chassis rattling around on the metal top can cause glitches. While out on the track is a whole different problem.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net