Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
How to learn how to be good at tuning a nitro truck? >

How to learn how to be good at tuning a nitro truck?

How to learn how to be good at tuning a nitro truck?

Old 01-03-2010, 07:59 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default How to learn how to be good at tuning a nitro truck?

I have had my Nitro Rustler since april of 2009 and I still cant learn how to tune. I would like to go down to the race track and race but I dont know how to tune. I got books and dvd's but how can I get the hang of it?

Thanks
Old 01-03-2010, 08:08 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Nitro F150
I have had my Nitro Rustler since april of 2009 and I still cant learn how to tune. I would like to go down to the race track and race but I dont know how to tune. I got books and dvd's but how can I get the hang of it?

Thanks
ah ha.. this is a tough one. All I can say is be patient! Tuning nitro seems to be an art form. I am not an expert, but have learned a TON by trying to understand these engines, and by playing with them. There are plenty of basic videos out there. Many on YouTube. The best advice would be to ASK for help from some of the experts in you area. If you have a local track, hang out and watch some of the fast guys tune. Ask them what they are listening/feeling for.

It takes time to get the hang of it, and to feel/hear what your engine is telling you. There is no easy lesson that will make you an expert.

Don't give up!
Old 01-03-2010, 08:09 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)