R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2009, 07:39 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default steering ????

i got my buggy and i have the stock servo in it and it seems like on the ground it hasgreat tourque but wen racing at the track i have to take all the turns wide do i need a new servo or tires or wat and do sway bars help alot thanks
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
GearHd6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

What are you running for a buggy? Does it have a servo saver that you can adjust the tension on? Maybe it's set to loose. If it's 4wd that will try and make it straighten the wheels when under power also.
__________________
Team Associated
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 07:47 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

i am running a .21 in it it is 4wd and yes it has a servo saver
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 07:49 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

what buggy is it...

what servo does it run...
__________________
My cheapo brushless buggy.. and some other thing :p

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9525/squashed.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2353/26825179.jpg
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6968/49855578.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 07:51 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

its a sh z car zmxb-8 with the stock servo and do tires make that big of a diffrents and it came with some stock ones that looks like it has good grip but should i go to proline ones
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:06 PM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

what kind of (torque does your stock steering servo have) , cause what will happen is if theres not a, (enough torque )it wont hold its (stregth) and you wont be able to turn right it will just, push out wide when you steer.


yes make sure your (steering saver, is tight enough) you just want a little bit of back to forth play in the wheels.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:09 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

how do u know if its tight or not i havent moved it at all so i think it might be loose
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:14 PM   #8
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

take both of your (hands when the power is off and move the wheels) back in forth and you ,can tell when its to (tight cause, there wont be any play .) its all by feel with the steering saver. but im guessing that the stock servo doesnt (have nearly enough torque for, the steering) so i would get a servo that has at (least 130 oz of torque for a buggy.)
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:15 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

k thanx and i was just doing that it was off and i was turning it and it was pretty loose soo
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:22 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
JBURCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampton Va
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

WOW they understand each other
JBURCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:24 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBURCH View Post
WOW they understand each other
I'm struggling
__________________
My cheapo brushless buggy.. and some other thing :p

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9525/squashed.jpg
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/2353/26825179.jpg
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6968/49855578.jpg
AmmoJammo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:21 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

do sway bars make a huge diffrence
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:31 PM   #13
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

yea on a smooth dirt track they do but on a rough rutty track proberty not.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:37 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
slasher man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 514
Default

k i will get some
slasher man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:49 PM   #15
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

on a rough rutty blown out track your, better off taking one off the rear or the front. cause takeing one off or both, proberty will make it say on the ground better on a rough track.
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RB5 steering Rack update lp3233 Electric Off-Road 358 01-17-2010 06:43 PM
>>>NEW HPI Savage XL w/ Big Bores, JR 8711 steering servo and more.. JP116 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 70 04-21-2009 02:40 PM
Hiro Seiki Aluminum Steering Wheels stonedgti Electric On-Road 87 11-06-2008 09:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net