R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   mugen or hot bodies? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/356022-mugen-hot-bodies.html)

halfman 12-30-2009 12:53 PM

mugen or hot bodies?

I have a mugen mbx6 right now and was wondering about the d8. I am a fairly decent driver and was wanting to try something else. If not the d8 maybe an associated rc8b. I would just like your opinion thanks.

dreaux 12-30-2009 12:55 PM

xray. If i bought a different brand, this is the only possibility for me.

I like the oddonell as well.

awidz 12-30-2009 12:56 PM

rc8b

I just switched from a losi to a Rc8b and love it, much more stable and easy to drive, not as twitchy. And for the price hard to beat i got mine new for $400, you might want to think about the Rc8b best value for what you get out there right now:tire:

RAlmeida 12-30-2009 01:18 PM

What's wrong with your 6T?

awdcameolsx 12-30-2009 01:43 PM

The D8 takes getting used to when switching from the mugen to the hot bodies but after a little bit you'll start to like it.

-Both are very reliable, but you gota keep an eye on the D8 cvd's
-The D8 is easier to drive, and after about 30 min practice I was already putting up slightly faster run times.
-Price factor the D8 is easier on the wallet.
-The diff fluid seems to last a bit longer on the D8, but overall maint. is easier with the mugen.
-The mugen's life span is longer, but by how much I don't know. I would say after about 3 gallons on the mugen it shows about as much wear as the hot bodies with 2 gallons.

Overall it comes down to driving style. If you like to drift the mugen tops that catagory. If your a "slower is faster" kinda guy the D8 is probably faster. I just made the switch from mugen to the D8, fits my driving style better. Sorry I got no experience with the associated.

halfman 12-30-2009 01:44 PM