R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2009, 03:09 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default 2.4 Specktrum Antenna Length

I know that 2.4 mhz now allows us to run much shorter antennas than before, but what are your experiences with just laying the wire in the box and running NO antenna? Advisable or not? Please weigh in!!
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 03:11 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
JBURCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampton Va
Posts: 626
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I cut mine about and inch above the antenna holder and then cut the antenna cover down to size and capped it, its under the body straight up with no problems, been like that for two years.
JBURCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 03:43 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
I know that 2.4 mhz now allows us to run much shorter antennas than before, but what are your experiences with just laying the wire in the box and running NO antenna? Advisable or not? Please weigh in!!
dsm receivers are fine to cut but they say to run them full or to an exact measurement which i dont remember because i never cut mine.

i now have been runnin dx3r which is dsm2 and have ran this for about a year with the antenna at full lenght up and down but for last 4 months i put excess wire in the box and leave it about 2 inches high out of the box and had zero issues
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 03:53 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Goomba_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Darien, IL
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I currently have my KO Propo 2.4Ghz just in my radio box kind of coiled around the RX. has been working fine since. Even on practice days when there is a bunch of others on the track.
__________________
Serpent Cobra S811, Which ever engine is running good for me, VP Fuel, Savox Servos

"A bad race day is still better than a Good work day!"
Goomba_7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 04:00 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

I heat the antennae tube so I can fold it flat and keep it inside the body on my buggy. Stole that idea from Old Grouchy.

In my cars with larger bodies I just don't put a hole in the body and let the antennae tube bend up against the body.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 07:23 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Depends on what kind of ant your reciever has. I know the older spek can be cut to exactly 3.6" & I have done that give or take an inch many times & kept the ant tube inside the body & you cant feel a range difference, or coiled inside the reciever box with no major problems but it does seem to affect range more than just a bit. The farthest I ever get from my car is 125' with DSM1 or DSM2.Also with either the max safe range for spek seems to be 200' & thats from testing multiple spek systems not just my stuff.

The new spek with coaxial ant can not be cut or bent sharply period. If the wire lenght is changed or the inner wire is damaged they get real random real fast.I learned the hard way & most of the people I run with go back to DSM1 recievers as soon as their ant gets damaged which is pretty quickly as those new wires are FRAGILE.I would not even think of coiling them in my rec box but then I dont like to have them sticking out of the car,again their too fragile.

My solution as said before is take the hit on responce time & use the DSM1 recievers simply for the flexability those antennas provide.

Are all the new coaxial ant the same from brand to brand ,fragile wise? I would assume so but ?
__________________
"TEAM TERRIBLES"
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 07:28 PM   #7
wfo
Tech Adept
 
wfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SO. CAL.
Posts: 238
Default

coiled in the box with no hole in my body I run @ Rev if it has reception there it will have it every where....
wfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:59 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
8ightisenough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Default

Do you just cap off the antenna at the top of the tube or bend the antenna at the top of the tube then cap it off?
8ightisenough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:15 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Like Butch said Some Ant wires can be bent Some CANNOT.....Futaba uses the coax for the ant and they are somewhat fragile but not that bad....ive had an ant tube break and the Ant was just fine.....I never wrap or tuck the wire in the box...imo your asking for issues if you do.....the Ant doesn't need to be outside the body on say a truggy...buggy you dont really have a choice with the body being soo close.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:32 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I run mine under my truggy body. Thinking about running it in the tude, but not out the top and capping it off.
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:32 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
8ightisenough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
Like Butch said Some Ant wires can be bent Some CANNOT.....Futaba uses the coax for the ant and they are somewhat fragile but not that bad....ive had an ant tube break and the Ant was just fine.....I never wrap or tuck the wire in the box...imo your asking for issues if you do.....the Ant doesn't need to be outside the body on say a truggy...buggy you dont really have a choice with the body being soo close.
I don't know much about Futaba as thread is about spektrum. I was asking about the 2.4 spektrum antenna being bent the at the top of the antenna tube then capped off i have a 3500 spektrum receiver. Or should i just leave the antenna strait same length as the tube then cap it off.
8ightisenough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 10:18 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Marcus Falconie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,462
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default radio

__________________
Marcus Falconieri
2011 Xray 808
Torco Racing Fuels
KBRL Nitro Series
www.youtube.com/gsadvanced
Marcus Falconie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 11:07 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ightisenough View Post
I don't know much about Futaba as thread is about spektrum. I was asking about the 2.4 spektrum antenna being bent the at the top of the antenna tube then capped off i have a 3500 spektrum receiver. Or should i just leave the antenna strait same length as the tube then cap it off.
either way is fine
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:18 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
underway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

You can run the spektrum antenna in the box... Spektrum has the 2.4ghz down to a science... Its the best in the business. Radio may leave a little to be desired but I deal with it because the reliability is awesome...
underway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:40 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by underway View Post
You can run the spektrum antenna in the box... Spektrum has the 2.4ghz down to a science... Its the best in the business. Radio may leave a little to be desired but I deal with it because the reliability is awesome...
i ripped an antanna off about 1 inch above the case of the rx

so i left it alone in a revo and drove it about 400 feet away never lost controll...

i was about 1 city block away from my self truck looked like an 18th scale.
__________________
Marcus P.
\\Speedzone USA//Savox USA\\Caster Racing Parts//
www.speedzoneusa.com. www.casterracingparts.com
smokinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wa Onroad Racing sleek the elite Australian Racing 8920 02-07-2012 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net