R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2009, 03:23 PM   #16
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Kris - I run them inside the receiver box as long as it does not cross itself. When the antenna wire crosses itself its the same ting as cutting it, you lose some. Personally I would never cut any receiver antenna wire, it was manufactured that length for a reason, not just to look good or bad. The mini specktrum receivers I can put inside the receiver box, the longer antenna wires I run an antenna and do like is mentioned above - bend the antenna and let it stay inside the body. No problems doing it that way here. BTW I am using a DX3R
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 03:27 PM   #17
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

Frank, what do you mean by "crossing itself"? Would this be the same thing as tieing it up with a bread wrapper tie in a nice little figure 8 package?
__________________
**Team Terribles Northern CA Regional Rep.**
Cold Fusion R/C Products Team Driver
Answer-RC USA / Team Sweep Racing USA
Team RcRenew...visit us at rcrenew.com!
Triton RC Alpha Plus Engines
rcgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 04:21 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
Frank, what do you mean by "crossing itself"? Would this be the same thing as tieing it up with a bread wrapper tie in a nice little figure 8 package?
yes...

the best way to keep it nice and short is to get a little piece of lexen and and a whole punch and wrap it around so it dose not touch it self and set that flat across the receiver right under the lid
__________________
Marcus P.
\\Speedzone USA//Savox USA\\Caster Racing Parts//
www.speedzoneusa.com. www.casterracingparts.com
smokinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 05:23 PM   #19
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
Frank, what do you mean by "crossing itself"? Would this be the same thing as tieing it up with a bread wrapper tie in a nice little figure 8 package?
Just dont let the antenna wire cross itself make sure its parallel to itself inside the receiver box.

+1 on a piece of lexan or I have used foam too.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 08:09 PM   #20
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

I cant Count how many time's ive seen run aways and Very Poor range from Spectrum gear....personally not a fan.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:24 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
I cant Count how many time's ive seen run aways and Very Poor range from Spectrum gear....personally not a fan.
over here in cali it seems to be fasst systems failing

over heating most the time.
__________________
Marcus P.
\\Speedzone USA//Savox USA\\Caster Racing Parts//
www.speedzoneusa.com. www.casterracingparts.com
smokinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:57 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Never had a runaway due to spektrum but random glitching is getting old. Seems to go in cycles. DSM1 recievers have that jerk type glitch & DSM2 have the 1-2 sec failsafe.Either way when they come back(DSM1 & DSM2) from horizion they always have a new ant when their repaired & not just replaced. They then work perfect till I beat the crap outa them for a while.
__________________
"TEAM TERRIBLES"
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 04:42 AM   #23
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,161
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default How good

How good is the spektrum DX3R radio?? Right now I got 2 m8 airtronics, both r on 27mhz an 75mhz , 1 radio is ten years old an still works fine the other is 5 years old an been used 4 hours still new,

So would it be worth me changing to that spektrum DX3R radio?????
LOSIRACER77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 06:33 AM   #24
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

En using the dx3r pretty much since it came out last year with only one issue. 2 weeks ago one of the model #'s went bad. I copied to a different model # and prob solved. Otherwise the radio works perfect. It feels a little cheap in my hands but it works very will. The only thing that keeps me from getting a 4pk is the voltage issue futaba has. I run straight lipo and futaba can't handle it.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 06:50 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
underway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,293
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by butch man View Post
Never had a runaway due to spektrum but random glitching is getting old. Seems to go in cycles. DSM1 recievers have that jerk type glitch & DSM2 have the 1-2 sec failsafe.Either way when they come back(DSM1 & DSM2) from horizion they always have a new ant when their repaired & not just replaced. They then work perfect till I beat the crap outa them for a while.
What applications are you running them in? I ALWAYS use foam in the receiver boxes and I've got receivers that are 2 years old that work perfect. Specktrum has been the most reliable system that I've used. I used Nomadio(2.4)/JR(fm) and airtronics(fm).

Radio feels a little cheesy but it works.
underway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 07:06 AM   #26
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

The dx3r is also the only dsm2 radio that i know of. It's the fastest radio available.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 07:39 AM   #27
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
The dx3r is also the only dsm2 radio that i know of. It's the fastest radio available.


m11x is has faster specs.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 08:20 AM   #28
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,161
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How easy is the DX3R to use??
LOSIRACER77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 08:29 AM   #29
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
I cant Count how many time's ive seen run aways and Very Poor range from Spectrum gear....personally not a fan.
Same goes for all radios even Futaba.
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 08:39 AM   #30
Tech Elite
 
underway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,293
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSIRACER77 View Post
How easy is the DX3R to use??
I think its fairly easy to use. Its only got 1 scroll/click wheel so I navigate through all of the menus with ease and one thumb... I've done it while on the stand... probably to the easiest to configure and use for that reason alone...
underway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wa Onroad Racing sleek the elite Australian Racing 8920 02-07-2012 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net