R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 12-15-2009, 06:35 PM   #1
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 45 (98%+)
Send a message via MSN to tkhoo
Default Setting.

Hi guys, I am a newbie on setting a car. Before I learn how to drive buggy, how to take a jump and how to tune a engine. And now I just started plan to learn how to set up a car in different track cond. Currently I run in a loose and dusty track with many 180 degree turn. My 1st question is as below:

1,do i need to fully tighten the set screw on the front and rear anti roll bar or different tightness will make different setting on the car.

2,what I will feel if with and without the anti roll bar

Thanks.....
tkhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 12:06 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

see stickies.
C.Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 02:21 PM   #3
Tech Adept

The set screws are used to take up the slack between different size roll bars. They are best set so they just touch the roll bar to nip it but not cause friction or to make it tight. If they are left loose you will get allot of free play before the roll bar does what its designed to do.

Removing roll bars depends on the track but is not often done but if it is normally the front is removed. somtimes really bumpy or blown out tracks it makes for an easier drive. Another time is if the car pushes like mad on low traction surfaces, turns are very slow & all you need is more steering. if any sign of speed or high bite you may traction roll.
I have run with no front roll bar in the past but there is a time and place for it, just give it a go on a practice day to see the effects.
Bren Ralls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 02:35 PM   #4
Tech Prophet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bren Ralls View Post