Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
AE RC10GT2 Pull Start to Non-Pull Start.... >

AE RC10GT2 Pull Start to Non-Pull Start....

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

AE RC10GT2 Pull Start to Non-Pull Start....

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 01:44 AM
Tech Rookie

Default AE RC10GT2 Pull Start to Non-Pull Start....

First of all..... HELLO!!! Thank you all for answering all the questions I will undoubtedly have.......

Do I need a starter box, or a drill-style starter to convert from Pull Start to Non-Pull Start? I am new to the RC thing, and I think if I have to pull that cord one more time, I may go crazy..... I have had the car for two months, and the short time I have been able to play with it has been spent fixing the damn pull starter..... I just broke the THIRD one, so I am done...... I just need to know if I will have to modify the car at all, or if it will be as simple as buying a starter box/drill.....

Any help you may have would be greatly appreciated!!
Old 12-02-2009, 11:24 AM
Tech Initiate

I am not an EXPERT, but I have a GT2 and think this is all you need to get it going...

The stock engine mounts are the silver thick L shaped ones, you need the blue finned factory team ones to convert it... The motor will sit lower and the weight will be lower so thats a plus.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBMK6&P=Z

You will need a starter box that will work with the GT2... Look into that, but I think most will work...

You may need the non pull start flywheel, I don't yet know the difference but here it is here...
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNYY8&P=Z

When you take the pull start off and remove it you need a backplate to put in its place...
http://www.gohobbies.com/itemASC-29034.html

Don't stick to those links also, they were just the first ones that came up.. Shop around for the best price on those...

Also, do share how it works when your done! I may do the conversion soon also...
Old 12-02-2009, 08:51 PM