R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 11-26-2009, 03:07 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default Help with Losi 8ight engine fitting

Hi all Im pretty new to R/C and I have a Losi 8ight buggy, I need some advice on fitting an engine, the one I have is a RB C6 nitro engine but it wont fit in the buggy because the carb hits the brake and diff unit is there something i need to change to fit it in or do RB engines not fit on my car

Any help would be appreciated

thanks Chris
rhubarb4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:10 PM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

You need to loose the set screw on the carb and turn the carb body a little so it wont hit the brakes and diff and then tighten the set screw, happens with all engines the carb is adjustable just loosen and turn,
JBURCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:15 PM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)

+1, Then adjust the throttle servo arm so it's straight.
WWW.JCPRCRACEWAY.COM
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:19 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)

Also to lessen the angle you will have to put on the carb you can sand down the top of the diff mount plate where it comes to a point. The less angle the better.

Like this, to the left of the "E" clip.
aaron joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 02:19 PM   #5
Tech Rookie

Hi guys thanks for the info I have tried that and it works very pleased now thanks all
rhubarb4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 08:14 PM   #6
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default watch out...

For the chassis flex during racing, give the carb plenty of clearance to account for this design flaw. Be sure to set the end points carefully too as losi is notorious for killing throttle servos. Grinding a little off the center diff mount is a good idea too. My friend at the track bent his carb barrel because it was a little close to the diff mount. chassis flex.....