R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2009, 08:11 PM   #61
Tech Prophet
 
houston's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: portland OR
Posts: 15,088
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcobra View Post
Another contender:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...dProduct=10277

It's a 2s1p Turnigy 30c 5200mah hardcase pack for a little over $20. I'm thinking I am going to go with two of these as opposed to the 20c 5000mah Turnigy 4s softcase pack I was going to get for about the same price. These 30c packs will also be useful in flashlight racing.
Look killer on every aspect except for where the wires come out. Doesn't work too well for tenth scale
__________________
TEAM FUSION X ENGINES / TEAM BYRON ORIGINALS / TEAM PROLINE RACING TIRES / TEAM SICK GRAPHICS /TEAM KYOSHO / things I support: COMP HEAT DEALER /TEAM LUNSFORD/ FUSIONX™ USA / TEAM KYOSHO / "H.E.S."™ / BYRON FUELS / RC-OMGUSA/KICWEBDESIGNZ/AKA TIRES/PROLINE RACING TIRES /RAYA RACING/BUKU POWER CLUTCH/M2CRACING/special thanks to STAV and JIM HOTTIGREENMOUNTAINGRILLS.COM
houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 07:03 AM   #62
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Unless you got a Dual port charger i would stick with the single 4S...easier to maintain the packs and keep them in Check....If your used to charging multiple lipo's then by all means go with the 2 2S if that's the route you would prefer...either way your going to be happy with the extra power/runtime.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:00 PM   #63
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 161
Send a message via Yahoo to nitro-rob Send a message via Skype™ to nitro-rob
Default rewiring

Is it really necessary to solder all the junctions and go to 12 gauge wires for a 4s battery. The manufacturers seem okay with 4s running in their boxes as is and the current draw is nowhere near what it is when the lipo is in a truck. The connections in the box should be able to handle 200 amps no problem and I can't believe that the box will draw that much. Is this a case of overkill that has been sliding to more unnecessary specs?

Is this just theoretical and overkill?
nitro-rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:51 AM   #64
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro-rob View Post
Is it really necessary to solder all the junctions and go to 12 gauge wires for a 4s battery. The manufacturers seem okay with 4s running in their boxes as is and the current draw is nowhere near what it is when the lipo is in a truck. The connections in the box should be able to handle 200 amps no problem and I can't believe that the box will draw that much. Is this a case of overkill that has been sliding to more unnecessary specs?

Is this just theoretical and overkill?
yes, it is necessary, at least to bypass the switch... I did...after it melted...


__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 07:23 AM   #65
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthijs View Post
yes, it is necessary, at least to bypass the switch... I did...after it melted...


Starter boxes only really need 15-20c I would say 30 is the max. When you go too high there are too many amps and things start to melt. I'm running a 3200 30c venom 4s pack in my box and so far it is holding up well.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:12 AM   #66
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I went on ebay and got 2 4s 4000 msh 15c lipos for 20. Bucks. Been using them for about 2-3 months now. I liked them so much went and got some 2s 5000mah 30c lipos for 30 bucks for my sc
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:17 AM   #67
Tech Elite
 
Armaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,149
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
I went on ebay and got 2 4s 4000 msh 15c lipos for 20. Bucks. Been using them for about 2-3 months now. I liked them so much went and got some 2s 5000mah 30c lipos for 30 bucks for my sc
Can you please post a link for the members? Thanks.
Armaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:41 AM   #68
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Starter boxes only really need 15-20c I would say 30 is the max. When you go too high there are too many amps and things start to melt. I'm running a 3200 30c venom 4s pack in my box and so far it is holding up well.
Wrong. Batteries don't push amps - motors draw amps. So the starterbox will only draw as much amps it needs. No more.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:51 AM   #69
Tech Regular
 
RJNicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX (another burb of Dallas)
Posts: 371
Default

Exactly why I only use an 8c Starter Box battery from Common Sense.

6000mah 4s Lipo at a max of 8c. Just as big as my gel cell almost. Use it in my OFNA Blue Top and I have never had a single issue on any engine ever.. Period. It still has plenty of power to grind the wheel do a fine powder on my chassis if I miss or my post move from coming loose.

I think anything over 10c is over kill when your using the OFNA Blue top they have way more then enough power to turn over any engine.
__________________
*Team Terribles*
Rigs Listed Below
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/BCE Chassis/OS VZB *Sleeper*/RE11/JRHV Servos/KHZ
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/Werks B7 Pro/2013/Hitech HV Servos
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 E/Mamba Monster ESC/Xcelorin 2100kv or NEU Castle 2650kv *RIP-LIPO FIRE
RJNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:11 AM   #70
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Wrong. Batteries don't push amps - motors draw amps. So the starterbox will only draw as much amps it needs. No more.
So you are saying that a 50c battery wont push as many amps as a 20C battery if the motor doesnt require it?? Thats not that way I have been told. Why would you ever want to spend the $$$ on a higher C rating then?
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:24 AM   #71
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
So you are saying that a 50c battery wont push as many amps as a 20C battery if the motor doesnt require it?? Thats not that way I have been told. Why would you ever want to spend the $$$ on a higher C rating then?
Yep - that's the way it works.
The reason to buy batteries with high C ratings, is if you run touring car modified (just an example) where the amp draw is big. But it isn't in a starterbox.

If your battery got a too low C-rating for what you are using it for, the battery will get hot, and it will draw more mah's, because it needs to draw x power, but since the battery gets hot, it needs to draw more from the battery to get x power.

But yeah - the motor will draw the amps needed - the battery won't push the amps.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:26 AM   #72
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nilks View Post
Yep - that's the way it works.
The reason to buy batteries with high C ratings, is if you run touring car modified (just an example) where the amp draw is big. But it isn't in a starterbox.

If your battery got a too low C-rating for what you are using it for, the battery will get hot, and it will draw more mah's, because it needs to draw x power, but since the battery gets hot, it needs to draw more from the battery to get x power.

But yeah - the motor will draw the amps needed - the battery won't push the amps.
So how did he melt his box in the post above???
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 11:34 AM   #73
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
So how did he melt his box in the post above???
I don't know, but I would like to point out that it was only a 20C pack - so that was not the problem.
Missing relay maybe? Running to much power through the switch?
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 01:41 PM   #74
Tech Addict
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

When I melted the switch I was using the box without any modifications, just the lipo and deans. I've been using the same lipo for over a year now, without any problem, so no fault there. I don't know why it melted, maybe I was trying to start a new engine, cold with a lot of mechanical pinch and the box and lipo had to deliver serious mah's?

I've seen switches fail in all kinds of boxes and cars, try to keep things as simple as possible and eliminate them. Keeps your racing weekend stressfree
__________________
Exotek F1R3 // Tamiya TRF101
Matthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 02:04 PM   #75
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Do you have a relay in your box?
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net