Wiki Posts
Search

Acer bearing "kits"

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2009, 05:34 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Acer bearing "kits"

After talking with a few more experienced racers I have discovered a common denominator to both success and longevity with ones car is replace all of the bearings frequently. The cost of the bearings ($1 ea.) +/- doesn't seem like a huge investment yet when I went to look at Acer bearings, a set for my buggy was $90.

I'm no expert but I'm certain there aren't 90 bearings in my car. (RC8B) In fact, I'm certain there are not 45 ($2 ea.) bearings in my car. So is it worth it to find cheap bearings to replace more often? How often should I replace all of the bearings? What are some bearing alternatives?

It just seems that if I need to throw down $100 more per month to race, I'm either going to race less or not change my bearings as often.

Thanks for your help.
Old 11-22-2009, 05:45 PM
Tech Prophet

no u dont need to replace your bearings frently as long as there smooth your fine or just after every run get a air compresser and blast the dirt off ,its really just a personal thing my last long in my 1/8 nitro buggy as long as i dont run in the mud or something ,or il just clean them lube them up
Old 11-22-2009, 05:48 PM
Tech Prophet

Originally Posted by tc5 man
no u dont need to replace your bearings frently as long as there smooth your fine or just after every run get a air compresser and blast the dirt off ,its really just a personal thing my last long in my 1/8 nitro buggy as long as i dont run in the mud or something ,or il just clean them lube them up

how often i would say after a gallon in a half or two but if they are still smooth why change them or just take the seal off and lube them up
Old 11-22-2009, 07:15 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

how often i would say after a gallon in a half or two but if they are still smooth why change them or just take the seal off and lube them up