R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2009, 03:08 PM   #16
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

it might just be a dead servo. like Jaz said you definately need some live help.

looks like a good little truck though. dont give up on it yet!
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:09 PM   #17
Tech Regular
 
GearHd6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Swap the servo wires where they plug into the receiver. In other words, try and make the throttle servo work with the steering wheel. Which will rule out whether or not your throttle servo is broken. It's a known problem if the servo has been over traveling.

PM me if you've got more questions.
__________________
Team Associated
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 02:45 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

hey i live in houma, maybe we can meet up and i can help you out with it.
evojuggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 03:25 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
mblgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AL
Posts: 2,175
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Looks like it might be a very old Kyosho ST. (Like 1994-6ish)

Swap the servo leads between channel 1 and 2 as suggested in an above post. Both servo's (small black boxes operating linkage) should move similarly.

If the throttle one doesn't...then it is very likely the unit is bad and you can get one for under $30 new.

Now..nobody has mentioned this and I mean this in the most polite way. When stated "I pull the trigger and nothing happens"...does nothing happen at all . .or does the linkage move but the truck doesn't run/move like you expected it to? I'm just making sure because you will have to have a glow ignitor, fuel and pull the rip cord to make it "go"
__________________
Team Associated Reedy JConcepts.net FusionX USA
mblgjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 03:48 PM   #20
Tech Regular
 
GearHd6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I was PMing back and forth with him and all he gets is the slight twitch from BOTH servo's when he turns the switch on, thats it. He told me the crystals both match and theres an RX and TX and they're in the right location. The radio and receiver are both 75 MHZ AM. The receiver is brand new, he just bought it, the receiver battery is also brand new and charged. The transmitter will not communicate at all with the receiver. I told him to find someone with a transmitter he can test on it, either a friend or local hobby shop.
__________________
Team Associated
GearHd6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 04:21 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

well i could help but i dont have a 75mhz tx to try. all i have is 27mhz and 2.4ghz.
evojuggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 06:54 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
mblgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AL
Posts: 2,175
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Why not just bypass the switch and plug the battery straight into the receiver.

If it "flicks" when he hits the switch and then 'nothing' it could be a bad switch/contact.

Plug the battery into the 'batt' channel of the receiver and try it without the switch.
__________________
Team Associated Reedy JConcepts.net FusionX USA
mblgjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 05:52 PM   #23
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Ok here it is . my friend and i swopped thr receiver from his car to mine .everything worked on with his receiver . but i need a new engine and receiver any suggestions? brand , size ? can i up grade the engine.

Last edited by Sword Slayer; 11-23-2009 at 06:25 PM.
Sword Slayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 01:54 AM   #24
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The next thing to do is go to the track and make friends. Go on a practis day and ask around. I'd wait on a new motor 'till you know you want to get in deep 'cause money will fly out. And have fun!!!!!
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 08:28 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
aray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 368
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Working Man View Post
The next thing to do is go to the track and make friends. Go on a practis day and ask around. I'd wait on a new motor 'till you know you want to get in deep 'cause money will fly out. And have fun!!!!!
+1

Also, there are some amazing "ready to run" packages out there at just about every price range. I'd look at these before dropping money on a new motor for a much older car. I'm thinking parts may be tough to get for that if you break it as well....
aray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net