R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-10-2009, 08:38 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default I'M HAVING PERSONAL ISSUES WITH MY 4PK OPPIONS

okay i own a 4pk and recently perchased the hv hitec servos and scared to run unregulated power though the reciever.im really not looking for the performance gain as much as space in the radio tray of the mugen.the space and performance gain along with futaba telling me to run the regulator out side the box which im not happy with im unsure if i have the right radio.you would think for a 500 dollar radio i could run it unregulated.i would like to know how many of you have ran unregulated witg success and how many have had problems.
toofast55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:49 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast55 View Post
okay i own a 4pk and recently perchased the hv hitec servos and scared to run unregulated power though the reciever.im really not looking for the performance gain as much as space in the radio tray of the mugen.the space and performance gain along with futaba telling me to run the regulator out side the box which im not happy with im unsure if i have the right radio.you would think for a 500 dollar radio i could run it unregulated.i would like to know how many of you have ran unregulated witg success and how many have had problems.

Man I have to agree with you 100%. A high end futaba radio should have no issues running lipo unregulated but they do. That's the only hjng that keeps me from switching to the 4pk. It's an awesome radio but you have to run a regulator in the car. I mean if my cheap DX3R can handle it why doesn't futaba step up their game and produce a recever that can run on lipo. If you run your 4pk unregulated you can expect to blow up the receiver that's the bottom line.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:49 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toofast55 View Post
okay i own a 4pk and recently perchased the hv hitec servos and scared to run unregulated power though the reciever.im really not looking for the performance gain as much as space in the radio tray of the mugen.the space and performance gain along with futaba telling me to run the regulator out side the box which im not happy with im unsure if i have the right radio.you would think for a 500 dollar radio i could run it unregulated.i would like to know how many of you have ran unregulated witg success and how many have had problems.
I run a regulator in the box with a futaba 604 with no issues.
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 08:53 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I have run the 4PK/604 combo all season in my MBX6, unregged LiPo, no problems. While I suppose it wouldn't be right to tell you that you should go against factory statements...it can be done.
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:01 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
jpalessi's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jpalessi Send a message via Skype™ to jpalessi
Default

i have been running the bls servos with lipo and they say not to.. no issues. they are just covering themselves because it's lipo..
__________________
Joe Alessi
www.Lucky7RC.com
jpalessi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:05 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
awdcameolsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Trade it for a low use DX3R with 2 Receivers . I know somebody willing to do that if you are unhappy with the futaba system.
awdcameolsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:41 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

the radio is sweet i feel very in touch with my truggy,radio setup is easy because thats all i have owned but would like to run straight lipo and if no body has had problems because of it i will do so understanding im taking a risk.thx for your experiences pls keep them coming for me and anyone else that runs the 4pk.
toofast55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:47 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 349
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

the radio is sweet i feel very in touch with my truggy,radio setup is easy because thats all i have owned but would like to run straight lipo and if no body has had problems because of it i will do so understanding im taking a risk.thx for your experiences pls keep them coming for me and anyone else that runs the 4pk.
toofast55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:57 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I'm running the 3PK/603FS combo, and I'm in the same boat as OP.. I've considered running unregulated, but can't afford to fry a receiver.. Has anyone done it and had problems? That's what I want to hear. WHat happened and could it have been avoided, and still run unreg?
__________________
Scott Musgrave
ScottyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:30 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I have been running a regulator for some time on three of
my 604 rx with on problems two are in the rx boxes and
on my latemodel it's on the outside next to the servo the
way I see it is way take the chance and fry your $100 rx
over a $20 part and you may or may not gain any thing
in less you are running the high volt servos for more torque
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:40 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 105
Default

i have never done it myself but i do know alot of guys that run unregulated lipo with the 3pk 2.4 stuff and no problems. I talked to them about it and they was telling me that there was more of a problem with servos then with receiver's. I think at the time most of the guys that where doing unregulated lipo where using hitec 5955 servo's. they told me that the receiver would handle way more voltage then most servo's would. I use lipo regulated because i want the extra runtime and the same voltage so it dont drop off on long run's.
axle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:52 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Ruune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 891
Send a message via ICQ to Ruune Send a message via AIM to Ruune Send a message via Yahoo to Ruune
Default

run a 6.4v LiFe pack w/ no regulator. Done.
Ruune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:55 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

Do we really need to run the same voltage to the Rx and servos?

Couldn't we cut the red wire from the servos and tie it directly to the switch? Sending 8.4 to the servos.

Then have another wire coming off the switch going to the regulator then to the Rx. To power the Rx at a lower voltage.

Since the Rx is a constant and very light load, we might not need the regulator at all. Just run some resistors off of the switch instead to bring voltage down to 6.0

The only bond between the servos and Rx left would be the white wire, but if thats only signal, its a one way street and the 2 different voltages wouldn't affect that?
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:59 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 262
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruune View Post
run a 6.4v LiFe pack w/ no regulator. Done.
+1, I'm running two of those. One in the TX and one in the RC8B
JodyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 04:02 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Do we really need to run the same voltage to the Rx and servos?

Couldn't we cut the red wire from the servos and tie it directly to the switch? Sending 8.4 to the servos.

Then have another wire coming off the switch going to the regulator then to the Rx. To power the Rx at a lower voltage.

Since the Rx is a constant and very light load, we might not need the regulator at all. Just run some resistors off of the switch instead to bring voltage down to 6.0

The only bond between the servos and Rx left would be the white wire, but if thats only signal, its a one way street and the 2 different voltages wouldn't affect that?
that makes sense.....in theory
__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net