R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2009, 06:31 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default steering servo problems

Hey guys, my steering servo has no power, it will turn the wheels when the truck is off the ground but once i set it down it barly moves them to the right and it wont go to the left. The Rx battery is at full charge. The servo is fairly new only run about 15 times. I have the End points adjusted right so i am clueless here. Is the servo fried? its an AE S2008MG in an RC8T.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:38 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

if you have another servo put it in and compare. sounds likes its shot tho
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:48 PM   #3
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

i would say its ethier a chip in the gears in the servo or the motor inside of it is shot
tc5 man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:54 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

ya the gears are in tacked. and the steering srevo works up front. So now the question is why did it Fry. its still a new servo.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:54 PM   #5
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

heres a good servo thats not a lot of money and its a pretty good servo

team orion vortex vds -1409 high torque servo its at amainhobbies
i just got one and they center really good and has a heatsink on it and has titatuim gears and its fast also .
tc5 man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:55 PM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

ace servos thats the reason
tc5 man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:55 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

I'd like to know what you find out. I have almost exactly the same proble
. Although my servos been used a great deal more then 15 times. Servo worked great up until a few races back and all of a sudden no steering hardly at all under a load. It's enough to race but not really enough to make the sharper turns like it needs to. I end up having to motor my way through. I've adjusted servo saver, travel on my radio and everything. Don't have another servo on hand to put in it or I'd give that a shot and see. So let me know how it turns out.
AndysD8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 07:42 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

If your spending 100$ go Hitec and Never look back.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 05:34 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

that was my plan. but anythoughts on wy mine fried? i dont want to buy a new one and have that fry to....
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 05:42 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

maybe servo saver is just too loose.
__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:29 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider313 View Post
that was my plan. but anythoughts on wy mine fried? i dont want to buy a new one and have that fry to....
like was said the saver failed. improper set up linkage and end points are crucial. i run losi cars and lost 1 jr 270 on an rtr couple years ago and i didnt set it up somebody else did. theres tons of info about this subject throuighout this forum to be searched. i wont run a servo if its making noise(within reason)
__________________
Mark Buecker
8&stuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 06:45 AM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider313 View Post
that was my plan. but anythoughts on wy mine fried? i dont want to buy a new one and have that fry to....


1/8 is extremely abusive on electronics.....cheap servo's never last too long......i would just make sure your EPA's are correct....nothing's binding and you should be good to go.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:33 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,431
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

ya i had my Epa set right, and there is no binding. i can take the servo horn off and tilt the truck and it will turn the wheels. so that not the problem. the servo saver is set right, so i am going with it failed cuz its cheap. I got the new one ordered aready.
__________________
Dan Williams
MNRC Chairman
---Xray, RC America, Pro-Line Racing, FX Royal, Hudy, KO Propo, 92zero Designs, Vision Racing Products, RW-Mods, Team Loosenuts, forddesigns.net--- Big Thanks to: Wheel Brokers Track and Shop, Pine City MN~ "Stompy"
rider313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:57 AM   #14
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
If your spending 100$ go Hitec and Never look back.

+1 on go hitec. I fought it for awhile and I'm on board now. The 7955 is bullitproof if you can't drop 100 bucks then get a cheaper hitec. Bottom line is go hitec. Jr's are hit or miss no matter how much you pay for them. Ace blow fast. Those new Orion servos have some alum gears in them and just won't hold up to 1/8 scale abuse. I have no exp with futaba but I know they make quality stuff. I say spend it once and then enjoy it for a long time.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 08:35 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
NitroFreakManHo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Upstairs, Canada
Posts: 1,142
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to NitroFreakManHo Send a message via Skype™ to NitroFreakManHo
Default

I agree, Hitec ALL THE WAY, and don't look back

Were you running NiMh or LiPo when it fried. It could also be something as simple as a bad contact inside the servo from a hard landing. Like Integra said, low-end servos have a very short life in 1/8 scale chassis. It doesn't sound like it's something in your setup..just a bad servo I'm sure.
__________________
TEAM TERRIBLES √ 2009/2011 SORRCC Points Series Truggy Champ
CRE Werks B5 powered Serpent 811-T
CRE Nova P5 Powered Serpent 811-B
**M2C**Hitec 7955TG Servos**Buku Clutch
www.apaarchery.com www.skoffroad.ca www.youtube.com/nitrofreakmanho
NitroFreakManHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help! Steering servo related... RoyalAirness29 Nitro On-Road 12 09-26-2009 07:53 PM
Servo Problems! Renuco612 Electric On-Road 16 09-24-2007 08:21 PM
Servo problems? TimV Electric On-Road 6 05-13-2007 03:36 PM
Futaba 9450 as steering servo mxs Nitro On-Road 30 06-12-2005 09:04 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net