R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 10-31-2009, 11:38 PM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Questions?? CAR MAINTANCE!

Hi

I am new to the racing scene and just wondering what sort of maintance should be carried out on my car and how often to keep it at the top of its game.

Cheers
Tony
yuppi1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:18 AM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

i typically maintenance every few hours of track time. strip down, clean, and rebuild worn components. check the drive train first.
C.Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:22 AM   #3
Tech Addict

ok cheers what about fluids and oils?

what and when?
Old 11-01-2009, 12:36 AM   #4
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

For my diff oils I change it out every 3-4 races. For my shock oils I change them 2-3 races. Other things I do is on my 8ight-T, I replace the hub bearings or a least clean and look at them every 1-2 races. The bearings on the diff I check out when I replace diff oils of if there any signs something might need a look. I look at the bearings on my vehicles constantly. Other then that it's basically cleaning after every run and checking parts to make sure there not worn out to bad and need replacing and cleaning air filter, etc. You will get the most use of of you car if you clean it up after running and just checking things out all the time to make sure there ok. A lot of the time I end up changing out fluids, bearings, etc earlier then I need to if there is a big race coming up. This is for my vehicles I race. For the vehicles I bash I usually just wait till there is a sign something might be worn out and replace it then.
shanty140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:48 AM   #5
Tech Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanty140 View Post