R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2009, 05:31 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 577
Default I know a guy

I know a guy who had a friend use a brand new Hudy set-up station to dial in his car. Well the next day they went out of town to Fun Hobby R/c to a race.The car would not handle he could not make 1 lap without crashing it was the weirdest handling thing i have ever seen.Well a week or so later his buddy told him he had dialed in positive camber instead of negative and that was the issue, something about it changes when the wheels and tires are off/on and you need to compensate for that at the time of set up while the wheels are off. i swear , I could not make it around 1 time without crashing, i was so baffled i thought it was tires and I know I suck but dam..... it was the craziest handling thing i have ever seen.....it was like driving a school bus while drunk..... but you know what, I am not up tight about it, I had fun that day anyway and it was a buddy doing me a favor and to me that is more important than winning.I also learned something.My buddy had his car set up i dentical and he kicked butt, just goes to show you a dam good driver can quickly adjust to things.
Joey Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:16 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This has happened to many people who have set their 1/8th buggies up using a set-up station. I personally had this same sort of experience but I immediately remedied it by readjusting the car with a simple camber gauge. The set-up station was sold the following day and the problems went with it
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 06:57 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
bcr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dayton TN
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I bought a team magic setup station and since the first time i put my buggy on it,it handles better then ever!!! I think the problem is that people dont make sure the station is setting level and that you have to make sure the ride hight is were its suposed to be before adjusting things or your setting will be off. Maybe the guy didnt check were you run your ride hight and it messed up your camber settings.
__________________
MBX6R
XRAY XB808
NOVAROSSI
bcr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:30 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

Thats awesome! Dialed the camber the wrong way! LOL!


I love my setup station. Every tune and every setup I use is perfectly repeatable. When I was without it I was allways chasing a tune. Now I know what setting is doing what. Can feel a huge change every time to the track.

It's nice having my steering EPAs set nearly the same with even throw and very little trim needed.

My car goes into its SS before every practice day or race. And sometimes after the practice day/race to record the changes I made at the track.


You can't dial in camber useing a gauge and wheels when your wheels have 2 degrees of wobble. Nothing like setting toe and camber to a warped wheel to mess up your tune.

Its surprizing what adjusting the rear camber can do to a Nitrobuggy.

You have to lock the car down on the 30mm Hudy blocks so that you can get consistant readings to record. The camber will be different at ride ht.

Also you need to set camber, toe, camber, toe , camber. Your camber changes when you adjust toe and vice versa so you have to double check both after adjusting either.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 07:36 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PTP Racing View Post
This has happened to many people who have set their 1/8th buggies up using a set-up station. I personally had this same sort of experience but I immediately remedied it by readjusting the car with a simple camber gauge. The set-up station was sold the following day and the problems went with it
+1
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:33 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Thats awesome! Dialed the camber the wrong way! LOL!


I love my setup station. Every tune and every setup I use is perfectly repeatable. When I was without it I was allways chasing a tune. Now I know what setting is doing what. Can feel a huge change every time to the track.

It's nice having my steering EPAs set nearly the same with even throw and very little trim needed.

My car goes into its SS before every practice day or race. And sometimes after the practice day/race to record the changes I made at the track.


You can't dial in camber useing a gauge and wheels when your wheels have 2 degrees of wobble. Nothing like setting toe and camber to a warped wheel to mess up your tune.

Its surprizing what adjusting the rear camber can do to a Nitrobuggy.

You have to lock the car down on the 30mm Hudy blocks so that you can get consistant readings to record. The camber will be different at ride ht.

Also you need to set camber, toe, camber, toe , camber. Your camber changes when you adjust toe and vice versa so you have to double check both after adjusting either.
Tell me, and I'm not trying to be a smart azz, do you have a real job? I mean after I clean it, check it close, and put everything away Sunday is shot out. I just use a camber gauge and dail calipers and put everything back the way it started. Time well spent on weekends. The ole lady gets the rest. I'm just saying...
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:40 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,173
Default

If you know the buggy 4-5 hours should clean and rebuild it. Maybe less.

I really liked the Hudy Set-up. I didn't think it mattered till I lined up everything on my RC10 B3 years ago. It opened my eyes.

TC same thing.
Chris Reilly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 08:53 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

im not trying to be a smart ass either or captain of the obvoius but i really find it difficult to beleive that because you set your car up on a setup station that it caused the car to be as bad as you say. if you do it right you should be pretty darn close but i only use the setup station after a complete fresh rebuild to get it close other wise i use a can of motorspray to set my camber (poor mans camber gauge) but really if someone has you beleiving that then i dont know what to tell you
__________________
Leon McIntosh
PRO-LINE--XRAY--RCAmerica--FX Engines--NitroPro Fuel--Kustom R/C Graphics--Schelle Racing

******* DialedSetups.com ****** Check it out!!!!!
punkracer24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:05 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Working Man View Post
Tell me, and I'm not trying to be a smart azz, do you have a real job? I mean after I clean it, check it close, and put everything away Sunday is shot out. I just use a camber gauge and dail calipers and put everything back the way it started. Time well spent on weekends. The ole lady gets the rest. I'm just saying...
Actually I leave it in my cars trunk after racing. I get around to cleaning it and throw it downstairs another night.

The setup station is quicker than the camber gauge methods. I have the car realighned and ready for the next race in about 30minutes. I shot my TV so I don't waste much time with that ,and my last girlfriend got eaten by a sea monster.

Then again I usually fly closer to the center of your Milky Way Galaxy where intense gravity makes time hard to measure.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:07 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
fatdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Actually I leave it in my cars trunk after racing. I get around to cleaning it and throw it downstairs another night.

The setup station is quicker than the camber gauge methods. I have the car realighned and ready for the next race in about 30minutes. I shot my TV so I don't waste much time with that ,and my last girlfriend got eaten by a sea monster.

Then again I usually fly closer to the center of your Milky Way Galaxy where intense gravity makes time hard to measure.

__________________
HPI Racing - Hot Bodies - D8 Army!
**Team Terribles** (Answer RC, Fastlane Graphix, Caster racing, M2C Racing, and Dialed Inc!)
fatdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:15 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Actually I leave it in my cars trunk after racing. I get around to cleaning it and throw it downstairs another night.

The setup station is quicker than the camber gauge methods. I have the car realighned and ready for the next race in about 30minutes. I shot my TV so I don't waste much time with that ,and my last girlfriend got eaten by a sea monster.

Then again I usually fly closer to the center of your Milky Way Galaxy where intense gravity makes time hard to measure.
OK Now I understand. And feel for you, brother.....Joey I need some help here. Way over me head.

Last edited by The Working Man; 10-27-2009 at 09:16 AM. Reason: why not?
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:20 AM   #12
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,499
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I love my hudy setup station like it was said above very repeatable and its perfect every time, + its fast and easy. I use the quick camber guage when I am in a rush but the set up station does the job easier and is more accurate.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:24 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: south florida
Posts: 7,704
Trader Rating: 163 (100%+)
Default

i found when i used the set up station that i would have to set -4 to achieve -2 on a standard camber gauge. also found once i stopped being anal about checking that stuff all the time i got faster
cjm1126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:52 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,345
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Joey's just having a good time
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 09:55 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjm1126 View Post
i found when i used the set up station that i would have to set -4 to achieve -2 on a standard camber gauge. also found once i stopped being anal about checking that stuff all the time i got faster
+1 i think they are a waste of time for off road.I have not used mine in years.
BeefHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have any tips for a guy moving from electric to nitro? Banter Nitro Off-Road 32 01-22-2009 02:19 PM
Thinking abot going lipo and don`t know a thing about them . Briguy Electric Off-Road 14 08-16-2008 04:16 PM
I know this has been posted 10,000 times... new to rc cars Nitro Off-Road 61 07-10-2008 04:21 PM
Anyone know a Deborah Henn? What do you think of this? XMSRacing Chat Lounge 40 01-12-2007 07:21 AM
I Know its Early, but lets start a thread on theTricities +??? cclifton Canadian R/C Scene 223 11-15-2004 10:44 AM
b4 or xxx ke2 -I know this has been asked a million times... AE Racer Electric Off-Road 132 01-11-2004 09:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net