R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Questions?? Need Help to Identify and trouble shot a problem

Having some trouble with the needels hear I belive A=High B= Idle C= ???? D= Low end. I started my motor and it was constant high idle as if i had the throttle completly open. When I would hit the brakes it would shut off. I belive to have fixed the problem I sealed the carb up around the base and also the neck where the air filter goes. I just wanted to double check and make sure I wasnt lossing my mind on what was going on.
On part C of the pic I have been told two diffrent things one is that it is mid range and recommended not to mess with unless an expert tunner and the second was a throttle stop.

Thanks for any and all reply
Attached Thumbnails
Need Help to Identify and trouble shot a problem-img_0197.jpg   Need Help to Identify and trouble shot a problem-img_0198.jpg  
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 09:07 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

your correct on all the needle's....but i have no clue what "C" is.....that's an old Axe rossi motor ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:06 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
SteveP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 918
Default

"C" is a throttle stop for the carb, and there's no need to mess with it unless you need to remove the slide valve.

If the engine is shutting off when you hit the brakes, one of two things is happening: 1; the idle speed adjustment isn't set properly to keep the carb open a minimum amount, or the 2; the fuel mixture adjustment on your low-speed needle is so out of whack that engine can't stay running. Start by adjusting "B" in the clockwise direction until the slide valve is open a minimum of 1mm. the carb should never be able to shut all the way - hopefully this solves the problem. Even if it does, you may need to adjust the fuel mixture settings to keep the engine running reliably. Try adjusting the idle speed screw and let me know what happens.
SteveP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:43 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,785
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a linkage/trim problem. Make sure the carb is closed with the radio at idle. Never use the throtle trim on the radio to set idle speed. Then use the idle screw to set your idle speed.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:49 PM   #5
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,873
Default

how come u cant use the throttle trim to come down the idle a bit i do it it seems to run fine
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 11:03 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Default

I don't think so baught it from AMainhobbies about 2 weeks ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra View Post
your correct on all the needle's....but i have no clue what "C" is.....that's an old Axe rossi motor ?
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:35 AM   #7
H9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
how come u cant use the throttle trim to come down the idle a bit i do it it seems to run fine
Because when you hit the brakes, where ever the throttle stop is set on the carburettor is where the engine idle is going to sit at. By using the throttle trim on your radio, all your doing is advancing the servo so that at 'idle' you're actually applying a small amount of throttle.

Next time your buggy is warmed up, bring in it in and let it idle. Then hit the brakes and notice your idle speed will drop because its then being allowed to hit the carby throttle stop.
H9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:58 AM   #8
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,873
Default

oh ok yea the idle did barely dropped off when i hit the brake i proberly could just click the trim foward a little and it will proberty be fine, it runs good though and the idle isnt to high
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:34 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

setting the idle with radio trim is WRONG...no matter what way you look at it.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 09:50 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Default

This is the low down on what happend today when I made my few adjustments to the carb I had to bring the idle screw up more then the recomended 1mm and had to richen up the low end screw ran temps up to 250 F and didnt want to push any further so I shut it down. Would run fine wit a lil bit of a steady exaughst smoke. So anys suggestons to how to keep a stable temp now also the plug was very wet and the wire was shiny. Also running a cold plug The outside temp was in the mid 50's and the air was very damp rain today so I done all my work in a shed/
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 10:03 AM   #11
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,873
Default

i would use a meduim heat plug that should keep the temp constant thats what i use and my nova runs great
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 10:56 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Default

That was one of my thoughts on that note my plug was reading red at times and green also with my ignitor could that be signs of plug going bad even though plug is not distorted and fairly new.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
i would use a meduim heat plug that should keep the temp constant thats what i use and my nova runs great
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 11:03 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
midwestcajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 832
Default

I might be wrong but it really sounds like you are super lean on the low end, not sure about high end because you havent told us how it is once you get rolling. Its straining for fuel hence the high idle. You might want to see if you can find the factory needle settings and start over. That has worked for me in the past when someone decided they should start cranking the screws on my mill and I had no idea what they did.which I have learned I will never allow to happen again. BTW...250 isnt bad depending on what engine you have which we still dont know. Tune to performance....good smoke and response and you should be fine. Engine temps vary considerably depending on what kind. Reedy's only run solid around 260-270 which would freak temp tuners out but others are around 220...my Dynamite is right at the 220 mark and thats not a "race" tune. If it feels right and blows smoke then run it.
__________________
~Tyler Watson~
midwestcajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 11:06 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What fuel are you using? Axe motors are not shimmed for 30% from the factory. I learned that the hard way. If you are running 30% you must add .02mm of shimming. Your low end seems to be way to far out aswell. That is a mamba x1 evolution right?
matrixmike28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 11:13 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
kodiakbear7070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to kodiakbear7070
Default

This is what the factory settings is suppose to be: " The factory initial setting is the following: Main needle 3.5 turn open from closed position- Idle needle 2.5 turn from closet position. " There is no misspelling on my part this is exactly coming from the instructions that they have sent me with my motor. Now are they calling the idle needle the low end or the acctual idle needle the high I can fig out its just the last part in the quote that I have given.
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestcajun View Post
I might be wrong but it really sounds like you are super lean on the low end, not sure about high end because you havent told us how it is once you get rolling. Its straining for fuel hence the high idle. You might want to see if you can find the factory needle settings and start over. That has worked for me in the past when someone decided they should start cranking the screws on my mill and I had no idea what they did.which I have learned I will never allow to happen again.
kodiakbear7070 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net