R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2009, 01:53 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default Chassis help??????

Ok , I bought a 8ight 1.0 pro roller At least I think it is. The chassis was shot so I had to buy a new one. I got it and put everything back together and got it RTR and it won't touch the starter wheel. Now my other 8ight will just fine. I beleave the chassis is bowed up in the middle cause if I press real hard it will hit the starter wheel than.
Can anybody help with this? Is there anything I can do to fix this? I'm hoping that maybe it's easy w/o having to pull everything off, if that's the case.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 02:08 PM   #2
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

the eight 1.0 roller has a thicker chassis and its machined milled ,the rtr is thinner and not cut out.maybe the starter wheel is warned down to much
if the chassis is bowed i think your saying that it is bent it would be pretty hard to bend it stright if its the milled chassis ,if its rtr u proberty could make it stright
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 02:08 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

Never mind I think I got it. I had a rear chassis gard on it and I beleave that's what is causing it not to go down all the way. Once I took that off it made contact with it. Still have to push down hard though. Maybe that's just how it works. It is my first starter box.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 02:12 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

I guess that's what it is than. It's just a thicker chassis. Still some what new, sorry.

Oh and the starter box is new. I just bought a RTR starter box that comes with the 8ight 2.0 RTR. It's just to get me by for a bit till I can buy the Ofna Truggy box.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 02:16 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,774
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

if u have the rtr motor mount it make themotor sit higher too. the pro mount is lower. the rtr had a higher mount for the rotostart. that will make the fly whell not touch the bump wheel too.
__________________
tlr 8 4.0 /rex engine/aka
tlr 8e 3.0/tekin/aka
pballer2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 02:40 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

NO, I have King Heads motor mounts on both of the cars. Maybe I just need to get used to using a starter box. All I have ever used is a roto start.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 03:26 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

On most 1.0's people liked to dremel the flywheel slot a bit wider to allow the wheel to contact.
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 03:53 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

Well I might do that later. I got it to start and ran 0ne tank threw it. I bought this motor (Dynamite mach 2 .21). Now I have to get a tune on it. That may be a chor in its self. I'm still new.
But it starts fine now though.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 04:07 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
RJNicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX (another burb of Dallas)
Posts: 371
Default

Read carefully people. He said the car was RTR after he got the new chassis.

He didn't say he bought an RTR chassis.

Did you buy chance by the 2.0 TFT chassis. The 2.0 chassis is 2mm longer then the 1.0 stock chassis.
__________________
*Team Terribles*
Rigs Listed Below
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/BCE Chassis/OS VZB *Sleeper*/RE11/JRHV Servos/KHZ
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/Werks B7 Pro/2013/Hitech HV Servos
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 E/Mamba Monster ESC/Xcelorin 2100kv or NEU Castle 2650kv *RIP-LIPO FIRE
RJNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 06:30 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Tate72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

Nope it's not a 2.0 chassis. It is a 1.0 race roller chassis. It is the machined milled chassis that comes with the race roller.
I'm sure what happen is I didn't account for the thinker chassis when I put on the rear chassis gard so it wouldn't let it go all the way down. Since then I have taken off that and it works fine now.
Tate72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 06:43 PM   #11
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,872
Default

if u have the losi eight box u dont have to dremel the flywheel area i just line it up right in the center and starts right up
tc5 man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RS4 3 Chassis Help nitrous36 Nitro On-Road 10 08-13-2004 09:59 PM
s710 bend chassis - help me Profoxcg Nitro On-Road 14 02-23-2004 06:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net