R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Clutch Shoe ? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/335307-clutch-shoe.html)

Harold R 10-12-2009 10:35 PM

Clutch Shoe ?

I'm new to 1/8th scale. Still trying to learn. I think my clutch shoes are about worn out. I got my buggy used. Actually new/built but never ran. It has two aluminum shoes and two carbon. The aluminum look more worn than the carbon. How do I know for sure I got all I can get out of them. Is there a wear indicator I'm not seeing? Is there a mm measurement you guys go by? I hate to scrape them if I can get more out of them but I don't want to tear anything up by using them too long as well.

Thanks in advance for any help.

AssocRacer 10-12-2009 10:39 PM

Go to a 3 shoe, 4 shoes are a BITCH. Plus, if you're new to 1/8th scale you'll wanna use carbon shoes. They make the clutch feel less grabby and the car will feel smoother on acceleration and not want to spin the tires as much, making the car easier to drive.

merdith6 10-12-2009 11:23 PM

Great advice associated guy

Seriously he is right. the three shoe flywheel is better and not too expensive. Depending on what car you have I like the mugen carbon clutch shoes they last a long time and I'm an expert racer and it's just better to run carbon shoes. the clutch bell will love you for it. I use kyosho 1.0 springs too they work great. As for the flywheel and clutch bell It just depends. You prob have a losi. I really don't know what will fit but i would say mugen is what some losi drivers use if I remember correctly, but yes the above guy said it perfectly. He's a smart guy.

inpuressa 10-13-2009 02:12 AM

out of curiosity, are all 3 piece clutch shoes/springs/flywheel/bell universal? Or are there certain combinations that just won't work?

Integra 10-13-2009 06:43 AM

3 shoe better then a 4 shoe...Lol....funny stuff. :lol:

hambone 10-13-2009 06:56 AM