R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Track rights - family vs newbie vs experts - how do you balance it all? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/333129-track-rights-family-vs-newbie-vs-experts-how-do-you-balance-all.html)

orcusomega 10-05-2009 09:29 AM

Track rights - family vs newbie vs experts - how do you balance it all?

OK, I will preface this post with the following caveat - I am NOT an expert, I would love to be one but that is a long time off so I am practicing as best I can. I am also a single father - I have two boys, one of which I am trying to introduce to the hobby, and my g/f's daughter who is also taking an interest. To that end, I would like them to know how to drive a car, how to learn respect not just for the equipment, but for others at the track, how to earn their keep in marshalling, etc.

OK, so here's the dilemma:

On the weekends, the crowd at the track is generally there for fun - they run around the track, not particularly serious, just for having a good time. I try to bring the gang to the track during this time, when there may be other kids there, when the audience is not a bunch of pros, etc.

I have run into a few situations, where I was at the track essentially alone, or with another family, and a driver arrives and gets overtly pissed that they can't do real track racing because the kids are on the track. Since prior to their arrival, the only ones there were kids, so they were running around the track behind their cars (more like jogging - not running like nuts, but keeping pace with their cars behind them so they could see what they were doing).

--EDIT -- THE KIDS ARE ONLY ON THE TRACK WHEN NO ONE ELSE IS!!!