R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2009, 07:45 AM   #1
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default will this work

will the motor out of a duratrax warhead fit into a mbx5
mach1rustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 07:54 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Im not to familiar with the waread, is it a pull start motor ? The Mbx5 requires a bump start motor, in most cases. I have not seen a pull start or roto start in a race buggy, but yes physicaly the motor mounts will line up and fine. THe only issue you will have is with the pull start or roto start.
__________________
XT8 - Werks B5
Hyper 10SC Novak PRO ESC 4.5HV
Madbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 08:34 AM   #3
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

Yes, originally this was a pull start motor. But I am going to put a back plate on it and bump start it. The only issue that I am having is that i have never dont nitro before this is my first. and I put the motor in the car to look at it. and well take a look at the picture and see if this looks like an issue. the crank shaft is very close to the gas tank ans im not sure if everything will line up right.
mach1rustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 08:51 AM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Put the clutch bell on and see if overlaps the gears or not. If it's alright, only thing I would worry about is the chasis flex and the shaft hitting that gas tank. I'd think you'd be ok though, maybe one of the MBX drivers can chime in on how close theirs is.
NitroAmmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:04 AM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

I put the clutchbell on it and the gears meshed but the motor could stand to be moved back 1/8 of an inch or so would it hurt to widen the chassis holes to move the motor back?
mach1rustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 10:23 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Corning,new york
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

What motor mounts are you using?The ones for the mbx or the warhead? It would be better if you could mod the motor mounts (drill new holes) versus modding the chassis itself. That way you can go back to stock later on if you wanted to.
RoyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 02:39 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
awdcameolsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

if it fits but its tight its just fine. I had about .020 of an inch between mine and it was ok all season. After i switched to a one pice mount the clearance was way better though.
awdcameolsx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net