R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2009, 09:30 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
GASMAN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Help my throttle servo hums when i turn on the truggy

Hey guys when I turn on my truggy the throttle servo hums? Is that ok or should I reset the he horn? I don't know if I should move the trim on the radio or reset the horn thanks
__________________
MBX6T OS XZ-B Speed .21/VP PRO/DX3R Pro
MBX6 OS XZ-B Speed .21/Proline/Sidewinder
Siklidz.com Dialedinc.com
Sincityrc.com
And a wife who let's me race !
GASMAN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:32 AM   #2
noR
Tech Regular
 
noR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to noR Send a message via MSN to noR Send a message via Yahoo to noR
Default

Is this hum only at full-lock; or when you're turned 20% does it hum?
__________________
Check out my local track --> http://trackseeker.lefora.com/2009/05/01/trackseekers-18-scale-offroad-track-04302009/page1
noR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:51 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peoria, IL, Home Track: Leisure Hours Raceway
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GASMAN123 View Post
Hey guys when I turn on my truggy the throttle servo hums? Is that ok or should I reset the he horn? I don't know if I should move the trim on the radio or reset the horn thanks
If this happens when you servo is centered, the spring is putting too much pressure on the servo. If this is fo your RC8T, take a look at page 40 of your manual. You can cut a little bit of length off of the spring and the buzzing should go away.

Here is a link to the manual http://aedownloads.com/downloads/man...tft_manual.pdf

Last edited by Cherwcp; 09-23-2009 at 09:52 AM. Reason: Added link to manual
Cherwcp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:51 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
GASMAN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default help my throttle servo hums when i turn it on

I turn on my radio then I turn on the truggy that's when I hear the humming from the throttle
__________________
MBX6T OS XZ-B Speed .21/VP PRO/DX3R Pro
MBX6 OS XZ-B Speed .21/Proline/Sidewinder
Siklidz.com Dialedinc.com
Sincityrc.com
And a wife who let's me race !
GASMAN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:52 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GASMAN123 View Post
Hey guys when I turn on my truggy the throttle servo hums? Is that ok or should I reset the he horn? I don't know if I should move the trim on the radio or reset the horn thanks
take the horn off and see if it still hums, if it does we have a servo that is probley on its last leg and if it dont you have your EPA and trims seet wrong
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Horizon - TLR 8ight 4.0 - TLR 8ight-T 4.0 - TLR 22 4.0 - Orion
token is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 10:01 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
GASMAN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Cool

Thanks guys ill take a look at when I get home and if I have questions ill check back with you guys thanks again for helping out the newb
__________________
MBX6T OS XZ-B Speed .21/VP PRO/DX3R Pro
MBX6 OS XZ-B Speed .21/Proline/Sidewinder
Siklidz.com Dialedinc.com
Sincityrc.com
And a wife who let's me race !
GASMAN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:54 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
GASMAN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Angry

Ok well I've only ran the servo 4 times and its going out already its an ace 1015 who do I sent it to ? I've tried to call Thunder Tiger but no help ? Any suggestions? I paid 110 bucks for this ? Help !
__________________
MBX6T OS XZ-B Speed .21/VP PRO/DX3R Pro
MBX6 OS XZ-B Speed .21/Proline/Sidewinder
Siklidz.com Dialedinc.com
Sincityrc.com
And a wife who let's me race !
GASMAN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 09:59 AM   #8
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Ky
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GASMAN123 View Post
Ok well I've only ran the servo 4 times and its going out already its an ace 1015 who do I sent it to ? I've tried to call Thunder Tiger but no help ? Any suggestions? I paid 110 bucks for this ? Help !
that sucks, i use futaba and hitec servos and havent had any troubles at all. and if im not mistaken the hobbico servos are made by hitec with a better price! i have had good luck from both customer service depts.
__________________
www.coyotehobbies.com-Owner
Brian Alderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:50 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
midwestcajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 832
Default

Digi servo's can and quite often have a hum to them...no major cause for alarm. You just want to make sure its not because of binding issues.
__________________
~Tyler Watson~
midwestcajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 11:30 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

My Hitec servos make all kinds of noise but there isnt anything wrong with them. Digital servos often make noise because the little processor inside is constantly trying to adjust and find center. If it still works fine then I dont think you should be too alarmed.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 11:55 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
GASMAN123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nv
Posts: 228
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Smile

What about if its twitching back and forth and I'm not even touching the radio ? Is that normal for digital servos ? Thanks again guys next weekend we start racing and I'm trying to get ready
__________________
MBX6T OS XZ-B Speed .21/VP PRO/DX3R Pro
MBX6 OS XZ-B Speed .21/Proline/Sidewinder
Siklidz.com Dialedinc.com
Sincityrc.com
And a wife who let's me race !
GASMAN123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 12:21 PM   #12
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Ky
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GASMAN123 View Post
What about if its twitching back and forth and I'm not even touching the radio ? Is that normal for digital servos ? Thanks again guys next weekend we start racing and I'm trying to get ready
nah, twitching is out for me i would send it back. if its twitching with no horn on it id say it done. jmho.
__________________
www.coyotehobbies.com-Owner
Brian Alderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 12:27 PM   #13
noR
Tech Regular
 
noR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to noR Send a message via MSN to noR Send a message via Yahoo to noR
Default

Could it be one of those Digital Sevo w/an Analog controller type problem?


I've heard some strange stuff happens when you mix & match the two....
__________________
Check out my local track --> http://trackseeker.lefora.com/2009/05/01/trackseekers-18-scale-offroad-track-04302009/page1
noR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 12:33 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Jammin57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,374
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

On some spektrum radios that I have seen if the radio is to close to the car sometimes it will make the servos glitch I have seen it happen on a few radios my old m11 with a spektrum module did every now and then if you're servo is humming chances are it's not centered move you trim a little both ways to see if it stops you might need to readjust the linkages to get it centered
Jammin57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 12:52 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Twitching is bad. Its probably got a bad gear or the case may be broken inside where the little pin that the gears ride on goes in. That is a problem Ive heard of before. I had a 1313 that would do that on steering. I sent it back and they sent me a new one.

Spektrum will cause glitching if you have the RX and TX within about 3ft of each other but thats a glitch where the servo would normally just do it once in one direction and then stop rather than bouncing back and forth.
__________________
Paycheck to Paycheck Racing
Jason Miller
PTP Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:12 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net