R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 09-17-2009, 10:12 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default T-Maxx Troubleshooting

Hey guys, new to the forum =)

So, I'm new to the hobby. My friend bought the latest Revo, and I bought his old 2.5 T-Maxx (w/ 3.3). Over the past few months I've upgrade just about everything on it except for the Trans and Motor. I've read a LOT about tuning, and being a hobby mechanic that hasn't been *too* tough. But, even with all that, I haven't had any luck curing an issue, and neither have two seperate RC mechanics I've brought it to ...

So, every since day 1 since I've had it, it dies a lot. Now, I know all RCs die when you're running them from time to time, but this thing dies 2-3x as much as the other ones I run with. 99% of the time when it dies, its at a standstill, or just pulling to a stop. I use to have an issue with it dying while moving (even in 2nd doing 30+), but that seems to have cured itself with a lot of motor tuning. But, 99% of the time, after I get it started, if I let it sit for more than 30 seconds before pulling the gas it will die. If I'm cruising around for 2 minutes and I just hit the break, half the time it will die outright or sit there, sputter and bit and die again.

Again, at this point, its had 2 professional mechanics "tune it", I've done it a few dozen times, and at every track I go to, people feel bad for me and they come over to help and try to work on it too. It's cursed ...

So, then ... a similar issue happens with my friends brand new Revo, on his 4th or 5th day out with it. He pulls to a stop and it dies. He had to lift it off the ground, start it, pull the gas, and put it down ... sounded familiar, same issue I have at times. In his case, they swapped out the "Slipper Clutch" and it fixed the issue. Does that sound right?