R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2009, 06:09 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Default Droop Settings

Hello all, I'm fairly new to the suspension tuning world, at least in RC trucks. I was wrenching on my Z01T, getting it set up to Scott Cramers set-up ( thanks Scott) and I saw the droop setting is "bottom of eyelet." I have no clue what this means or how to set it. What I 'believe' i do know, is droop is set so that you won't strain your shocks, which seems easy enough, but I'm sure theres more too it, seeing as how you need the right downtravel to keep the tire planted. Could someone help me learn how to set it? You don't have to tell me what setting to use, just help me understand the pros and cons, and i have that base setting if I can figure it out! You sure dont have to do droop settings on anything i own with two wheels
ALPINEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Ky
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

take the shock loose from the tower and pull em away a little then crank the droop screw until the bolt touches the bottom on the eyelet on the cap, repeat for all shocks. you should have to compress the shock just a little when you put em back on the tower.
__________________
www.coyotehobbies.com-Owner
Brian Alderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,304
Default

Sounds like a poor way to set droop!

I've tried useing shock length to measure over and over due to trying others posted setups that used shock lenght instead of actuall measured droop under the hubs.

measureing under the hubs I usually find about 2mm error in droop settings when useing shock length.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:27 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Gearhead racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somewhere in PA
Posts: 2,020
Default

What is the best way to set droop??
__________________
"Seeing the world on 2 wheels"
Losi Ten-T SCTE~Tekin SC4X 4.5~ Tekin RX8
Gearhead racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:31 PM   #5
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Ky
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Sounds like a poor way to set droop!

I've tried useing shock length to measure over and over due to trying others posted setups that used shock lenght instead of actuall measured droop under the hubs.

measureing under the hubs I usually find about 2mm error in droop settings when useing shock length.
just explaining to him how scott cramer does it, which is whos setup hes looking at. i use a hudy station and i set mine like i said above, once i did that i used my hudy ride height tool to measure on the hubs as well.
__________________
www.coyotehobbies.com-Owner
Brian Alderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 07:28 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhead racer View Post
What is the best way to set droop??
Set your chassis tires off on 30mm hudy blocks. Need a t flat surface like a cutting board. Slide the Hudy droop gauge under your wheel hubs. -1 or -2 is what I usually run.+/- .5mm

Problem is you need the bottom of your car to be flat. So a brand new car won't sit on the gauges flat because the screws stick out a little. Have to wait until those chassis screws get worn flat if your going to be as picky as me with setup.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 09:52 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Problem is when the screws have worn the chassis is no longer flat. Mine twist & cant be made flat like a onroad car. Its still the way I do it though.
__________________
"TEAM TERRIBLES"
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rc8t droop settings SPARTAN300gt Nitro Off-Road 6 01-21-2009 08:33 PM
Droop settings fruitland04 Electric On-Road 15 11-17-2007 05:15 PM
droop settings Team-RTR Australian Racing 13 10-21-2004 03:36 AM
Droop Settings? grymg Electric On-Road 16 09-23-2004 01:23 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net