R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2009, 04:33 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
WingWrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default ACE 1015 on unregulated lipo?

Anyone tried it?
__________________
8ight 2.0 RTR - 350 w/Turbo Head - Re11 - 4 Shoes - Ace servos - AKA tires
WingWrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 04:51 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WingWrecker View Post
Anyone tried it?

You will blow it up.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 04:57 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
WingWrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
You will blow it up.
So you've tried it?
__________________
8ight 2.0 RTR - 350 w/Turbo Head - Re11 - 4 Shoes - Ace servos - AKA tires
WingWrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:15 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Ace has new ones coming that are for lipo unregged
__________________
TT MT4G3 all tricked
TTST4G3 MT4ed out

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:17 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,022
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I've been running Ace unregulated for two seasons now. No problems. Granted, their CS will likely tell you it would void any warranty, but mine have been solid
NitroOB4You is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:32 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
bustabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: connecteyecut
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 15 (83%+)
Send a message via AIM to bustabo
Default

i have been running ace servos on straight lipo on throttle and steering for the past few months with no issues.

currently i have hitec 7950 hv servos as steering and ace 1015s for throttle in my buggy and truggy (losi 2.0).
bustabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:42 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
WingWrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I like these answers!

Anone else?
__________________
8ight 2.0 RTR - 350 w/Turbo Head - Re11 - 4 Shoes - Ace servos - AKA tires
WingWrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:46 PM   #8
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I just recently smoked two AE 1313's on straight lipo.

Never had an issue with 1015's on straight lipo.
McFly505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:52 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
WingWrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'm new and still just practicing. I have the 1015 for steering and thinking of getting getting the same for throttle to replace the swapped stock servo.

If I can get one more positive reply on the unregulated lipo then I am going for it.
__________________
8ight 2.0 RTR - 350 w/Turbo Head - Re11 - 4 Shoes - Ace servos - AKA tires
WingWrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:56 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
WingWrecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McFly505 View Post
I just recently smoked two AE 1313's on straight lipo.

Never had an issue with 1015's on straight lipo.
Alright then I'm doin it.

Thanks.
__________________
8ight 2.0 RTR - 350 w/Turbo Head - Re11 - 4 Shoes - Ace servos - AKA tires
WingWrecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:58 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
bustabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: connecteyecut
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 15 (83%+)
Send a message via AIM to bustabo
Default

just do it. make sure your endpoints are set correctly and make sure your throttle linkage isnt all messed up, as in, make sure the carb slides smoothly and has a little play at full throttle as well as pulling straight and level.
bustabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:59 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
bustabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: connecteyecut
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 15 (83%+)
Send a message via AIM to bustabo
Default

oh, and NitroOB4U and I race at the same track, i can vouge for him running them, and he can for me as well.
bustabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:05 PM   #13
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

I would suggest having spare gear set's and top cases on Hand if your going unregulated...the 1015's are twitchy enough on 6.0v...i can only imagine them on 8.4v .....plus the extra voltage is only gonna crunch on the brass gear's and weak top case even more...is there a specif reason you want to go unregulated WingWrecker ?
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:19 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

I ran my 1015's unregulated through a 603FS futaba receiver, and although I didn't smoke anything, I had a hesitation in the throttle input, car just didn't feel right, like the servo motors were cogging or something. Put in a regulator and instantly got better. May be a receiver issue or servo issue, but I get the best performance without delay when I run my regulator or 1600 nimh, I couldn't tell you which was in the car if I didn't know.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~Werks Racing~Pro-Line~Competition Suspension Inc.~Schelle Racing Innovations
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 06:27 PM   #15
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bustabo View Post
i have been running ace servos on straight lipo on throttle and steering for the past few months with no issues.

currently i have hitec 7950 hv servos as steering and ace 1015s for throttle in my buggy and truggy (losi 2.0).
So you are willing to risk the chance of your throttle servo going out and possibly creating a run away and blowing up your mill. Not here. I run high volt servos when I use lipo thats the only safe way. I have not tried it. I am not that crazy. Why take the chance.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4pk reciever hobbieguyz Nitro Off-Road 13 08-20-2009 09:03 AM
Torque VS speed in servos Moogumby Nitro Off-Road 11 07-26-2009 01:45 PM
What servo for 1/8th scale buggy teeforb Nitro Off-Road 21 10-14-2008 01:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net