R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2009, 08:52 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jeromesville, Ohio
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default EPA

I asked this in the rookie section, but did not get the answer I'm looking for yet. How do you set the epa adjustment on servos? I am thinking about upgrading the steering servo on my Slayer but want to make sure I don't ruin the new servo. I have read somewhere that if the epa isn't set correctly that it will reduce the life of the servo. I am using the stock Traxxas TQ radio that came with my slayer, the manual doesn't say anything about epa, is even possible with the stock radio?
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:56 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

Non adjustable on that radio.
__________________
"TEAM TERRIBLES"
butch man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:15 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

EPA is set on the radio itself. Your radio does not have that adjustment. To set it, you would need to upgrade you radio.
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:39 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jeromesville, Ohio
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

So, Can I just go ahead and install the new servo and not worry about it?
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:44 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Bigedmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,837
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

No. Depending on the servo, you can either break the car, or destroy the servo.
Bigedmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:47 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

This here will allow you to set EPA without upgrading your radio.

http://www.servocity.com/html/180o_servo_stretcher.html
__________________
Losi 8ight-Novarossi N21R-Hitec Servos-AKA-M11 Spektrum
*TEAM TERRIBLES*
Cory Kerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 09:54 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jeromesville, Ohio
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help guys, but how do I know when the servo is adjusted correctly? I'm assuming that you are just setting the servo to not exceed the amount of travel that the linkage can handle? I just want to make sure I dont riun the new servo.
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 05:28 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jeromesville, Ohio
Posts: 289
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This winter I am going to be racing indoor dirt oval, this sounds like a good tuning tool to help my driving in the turns. Get it set to where I could jam the wheel left and get a rythum going. Then when my driving gets better, back it off some.
cassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 07:08 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,482
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Integra
Default

you rarely if ever want to cut back on your steering....most tracks are technical enough that if you dont have Max steering your floating into the fluff and not being able to make the turn's you should be able to.....Yes that is a interesting little device that control's EPA....its no replacement for a Upgraded radio....you dont have to spend 3-400$ on a top end race radio...something like a Futaba 2.4 3pm for 150$ would do the trick nicely....plus having to wire that big honkin board inline with the servo's poses another problem of where to mount it securely.....a Slash might not be a big deal but w/e you race as a dirt oval car it might be a tight fit.
__________________
TNS Driver - Radio Post - Blue Groove Apparel - Team Panther - Hitec - Losi - W.E.D. Paint - Clockwork Fuel - Competition Heat - SUMO Racing - Tekin - Team Terribles - M2C Racing - Matrix Concepts - Kal Gard - BuKu Power - DE Racing -
Integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPA and Carb Venturi? Jaz240 Nitro Off-Road 20 06-13-2009 02:32 AM
Parkzone Corsair: how important is EPA...? flipteg RC Flight 7 11-15-2008 09:54 PM
EPA - ABS and D-Rate NOVICE4EVER Singapore R/C Racers 8 02-11-2008 08:04 PM
Instructions on epa/dual rate for a 28mm foam TC Jeel Electric On-Road 7 11-07-2004 09:25 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net