R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   engine temp (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/324966-engine-temp.html)

rememberthis 09-04-2009 05:43 PM

engine temp

I am new to RC tech and the rc world in general. I have a losi 8ight 2.0. I am wondering is the optimal temp to run these buggys at around 200-230 degrees F? My car hit 245 F yesterday (sounded the alarm) and I am trying to richen the mixture. If this doesnt work, are there any other suggestions? Thanks.

slayyer 09-04-2009 05:48 PM

245 isnt really all that bad. i usually run mine at 230 but if it runs good with good smoke trail them 245 would be fine. but yes if you richen it it will get cooler. id say run it at 230-235 but if it runs better a little higher id say keep it there.

rememberthis 09-04-2009 05:59 PM

Well unfortunately, it is heating up quite a bit without me really getting on it that hard. It appears a good amount of oil is leaking from somewhere as it has covered the area near and under the engine, even a little behind the engine. I am pretty sure this is oil from the fuel after it has been combusted, the liquid does not look like fuel. Any ideas?

Alan D. 09-04-2009 06:06 PM

It's oil.
You either have a cracked case, leaking front bearing, maybe even a broken exhaust gasket.

rememberthis 09-04-2009 06:14 PM

Yea, one of those for sure, damn i just got it broken in. Will any of these problems lend to an excessive gain in temperature?

Alan D. 09-04-2009 06:16 PM

If you just broke it in then the oil might be there from just running the motor rich during break in.

Clean it up richen the motor up a tad and re-tune. If the oil spot comes back then there's a problem.

dreaux 09-04-2009 06:24 PM

bad exhaust gasket will soak your chassis.

rememberthis 09-04-2009 07:18 PM

Ok, ill take a better look at it tomorrow, thanks for all the helpful info.

NitroFreakManHo 09-05-2009 08:27 AM