R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2009, 05:08 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Brake / Servo Problem

Im still having trouble with my brakes sticking, cant figure it out!

Ok so with the engine off I trim my throttle servo until there is no catch from the brakes. I then start my buggy, let it warm up, put it on the floor, without applying any brake or throttle make sure there is no grab from brakes, none, give the throttle a gentle squeeze turn it around and the brakes are on when throttle off???

Why would this change after simply applying a bit of throttle? I checked the linkages and although I dont know much about how it all works I got the rod that goes to carby, thats secure and working fine. Then on top of horn on other side there is another rod, cant work out what this does, looks like its just a guide because its loose and when i tighten it doesnt allow the servo to move. Same side but underneath there is another rod, also secure which I believe operates the brakes.

I adjusted the trim so much that the idle raised, ran it for not even half tank and the brakes were catching after a while. Its got me stuffed, I want to fix it quick because I think this is putting allot of stress under the clutch and motor, not to mention wearing out my breaks prematurly.

I have also checked the discs, all flat and smooth.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:09 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure the brake cams are turned right?
The Working Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:11 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

What car are you running?

I had this issue with my Jammin X2 buggy. I had to ream out the holes where the beaks posts lay into and put some green slime in there.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester Mi
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i had the same problem with the z01b team buggy, i tried making the holes bigger and that didn't really help. I realized that when i tightened down my top plate i was placing too much pressure on the brake cams vertically, so to fix this i placed a washer under each corner of the top plate where the screws go through. this raised the top plate just a little bit and relieved the pressure. they now work great. hope this helped.
fievel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:31 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

oh that's a good idea too!
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:35 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just found it what it is. Visit local hobby shop and we had a play with it, front linkage that comes of throttle servo horn is slight bent (no idea how) and intermittently sticking, need to pull it out and try to straighten.

Certainly not the best designed system out there, thats what you get when you buy a cheap buggy though.

Do you think it would still work if i disconnected the front brake altogether? Im not racing this so i dont care if outhers can outbrake me. Wondering if it will snap sideways if its rear brakes only.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:42 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

as long as your break when you are going straight it wouldn't matter.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:54 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
sperera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, I might try and run just the rear because I dont think the front are ever going to be reliable.
sperera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Servo Problem for newbie PLEASE HELP Zeusdafreak Nitro Off-Road 13 09-08-2009 01:16 PM
8IGHT-T 1.0 throttle/brake servo issues elkman Nitro Off-Road 9 08-10-2009 02:29 PM
3PK Super Brake servo problems nitrofarm Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 9 04-30-2008 01:49 PM
Throttle/brake servo broke... again!!! (3rd replacement!) sonep Malaysian R/C Racers 25 10-01-2003 07:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net