R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Old 08-27-2009, 05:02 PM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default Need some help - idling engine issue

I am trying to break in my engine and I don't know what to do.

This is my first engine break in and I am relatively new to the scene in general - so please don't assume:

a) I know what I am doing
b) I might have tried something obvious

If you have an idea please post it here. If I've tried it - I'll tell you - if not I'll try it.

I have the HS needle flush with the housing. I have richened the LS needle to try and make sure I do no damage to the engine. I have set the idling needle so there is roughly 1 - 1.5 mm gap.

The engine starts fine and idles ok for a few seconds. However, very shortly thereafter it starts to rev and will continue to do so until I do one of two things:

1) Hit the brake on the radio
2) Shut it down.

To the best of my ability to determine the throttle/brake linkage is correct. I closely watch the servo and linkage arms when I hit the brake and I don't see any "releasing". In fact the throttle arm and the bulb it attaches to don't seem to move at all when I hit the brake (the spring compresses, but the arm doesn't open or close the slide at all).

As long as I keep the brake held, the engine seems to idle OK. Within a few seconds of releasing it, the engines start to rev pretty high again.

I have been told it may be an air leak and will test that out tonight. I wanted to see if anyone else had some thoughts.

Thanks a lot in advance.
Old 08-27-2009, 05:10 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Well, to be honest it just sounds like you need to lower your idle.