R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2009, 07:09 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default hudy complete offroad setup kit.

just bought one. Hope its worth all the chedder

i forgot to get the mat board though. Can i substitute something else??
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:13 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

get a glass cutting board from Walmart.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:14 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

cool thanx.
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 07:22 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
cary's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I got one of those white cutting boards like the butchers use
all it needs to be is flat and like 2x2 feet and you are set
you will like this tool it makes things allot easier to get things
setup right the first time use mine all the time
__________________
Xray XB8 14,AE RC8T3,XB9 13,Kyosho wheeler,Losi SCTE 2.0,+ More
> The Animal,Frank L. Jr. <
~~~~RedRock Hobbies~~~~
cary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:43 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It's worth it, I had one for my Xray. I went Losi 2.0 and they have so much slop that it seems pointless to me.
__________________
Team HRC Raceway - http://www.hrcraceway.ca/
Semple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:45 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to imaxx21
Default

not worth the money IMO

simple camber gauge is all you need
__________________
-Crash
Upgrade RC www.upgrade-rc.com
imaxx21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:49 AM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I have the setup station hrom hudy and the simple camber guage too. The setup station takes all the guess workout. Worth the money in my opinion. I can dial my truggy in perfectly. On race day I usually use the simple camber guage and at home or on practice days when I want to change the setup I use the hudy. More acurate infomatio. Can never be bad.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:14 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
HaulinBass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: valleyview alberta canada
Posts: 2,114
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

im agreeing with mr upgrade rc, waste of money.
Ive yet to see any pro use a setup station, freaking tebo only uses a pop can.
All you need for setup is a $6 camber gauge and a set of $14 digital calipers.

FYI you might be suprised to find 2 degrees of camber on the hudy station could be as much as 4 degrees mesured with a camber gauge.

the last thing is every car has two or three degrees of slop in it, if it doesnt your car is probably bound up.
HaulinBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 11:49 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 855
Default

Been there and done that before with camber gauge. Frankly it's a pain in the ass to use. I'm wonder what you are doing caliper mearsuring the links that even worst than the camber gauge. After going to setup station the and car tracks better. I like to know how you know what the "pros" use at home. I have seen pro driver use setup station it at the track before. Myself I wouldn't bring setup station at the track.
pdmustgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:09 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

I've seen plenty of these out there. Damn near every 1/8th scale ONroad driver has one.

It is what it is. You can get by with a camber gauge, but if your trying real hard to get a good setting with a camber gauge alone its going to take a while.

There is play in the suspension so you kind of need to set "nominal" camber and toe settings. With the stand you can see the play, and even measure how much play you have. Can't do that with a pop can.

If your wheels are 2 degress warped (Proline) your going to be way off. The stand takes care of that.

The stand is just plain faster to use, unless your ok with a sloppy alighnment. I do an alighnment before every race, using a damn camber gauge alone makes it tedious work.
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 12:57 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Semple View Post
It's worth it, I had one for my Xray. I went Losi 2.0 and they have so much slop that it seems pointless to me.
LOL!
CarCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:37 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,854
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Semple View Post
It's worth it, I had one for my Xray. I went Losi 2.0 and they have so much slop that it seems pointless to me.
There must be a good 2-3 degree swing in my 8t 2.0 truggy camber just from the slop! I was so used to my 808 having so little slop that I thought something was wrong with my 8t 2.0 after I got it.

that setup station seems worth it for initial setup and building, but all you need at the track is a camber guage or pop can from what I can tell.
__________________
Cars I've Owned: Tekno EB48 & SCT410, AE 8.2e, AE SC10 4x4, MBX6e Tekno V4, Xray 808e, Xray 8Te, Losi 810e, Losi SCTE 4x4, Losi 22, Hot Bodies Ve8, Losi 8te, and plenty of Traxxas

Sponsors: Visa, Mastercard, Amex, and my wife's bank account.
Edumakated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:51 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Underground, Ohio
Posts: 4,305
Default

Exactly, you don't take it to the track. I dial my car in between races and don't usually adjust at the track much anymore. (now that I'm close to a good setup)
Zerodefect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:20 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 76
Default

IMHO
if you crash alot you don't need it...
if you are puttin down some good lap times, get one and watch'em drop...

HTH
PEACE
TOPS
TOPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:02 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Amoeba Send a message via MSN to Amoeba Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
I've seen plenty of these out there. Damn near every 1/8th scale ONroad driver has one.

It is what it is. You can get by with a camber gauge, but if your trying real hard to get a good setting with a camber gauge alone its going to take a while.

There is play in the suspension so you kind of need to set "nominal" camber and toe settings. With the stand you can see the play, and even measure how much play you have. Can't do that with a pop can.

If your wheels are 2 degress warped (Proline) your going to be way off. The stand takes care of that.

The stand is just plain faster to use, unless your ok with a sloppy alighnment. I do an alighnment before every race, using a damn camber gauge alone makes it tedious work.
I have to agree here. The reason every on-road racer and his brother has a setup stand is because even tiny differences have a large effect on handling. That said, it's not a necessary thing for off-roads as they do have more play/slop in general from higher abuse & wear.

As others have stated, camber/toe gauges or even the Soda can "eyeball" will method work but the advantage of a station is greater *consistency* in your setup.
__________________
Erin Carroll

Do Not Taunt Happy-Fun Ball
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC8T - With all race gear atxchris1234 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 06-19-2009 03:48 PM
TLT-10 Rock Crawlers - Scale ARTR New!! Pics, Great deal Super NICE!! FreqETag R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 06-07-2005 02:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net