R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2009, 09:00 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default Losi Engine Mounting Trouble

Does anyone ever have a hard time keeping there engine from coming loose? Today i went to the track and i couldnt even run a lap because the engine was sliding and it wasnt alligned right with the center diff. Any tips to keep it tight?
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:13 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tallahassee, FL
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

i personally haven't had any problems with it coming loose but if you haven't already id suggest some locktite on those screws! where is it coming loose from? the chassis or the motor itself?
__________________
kyosho mp9:novarossi 21-4C, nova 2084, 7955TG, dx3R
slayyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:17 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayyer View Post
i personally haven't had any problems with it coming loose but if you haven't already id suggest some locktite on those screws! where is it coming loose from? the chassis or the motor itself?
Its the screws under the chasis. On one of the motor mounts, both screws go in all the way but on the other mount there is a considerable amount of space between the screw head and chasis. So they can still go in more but they wont. Are the holes on the engine mount too small for the screws? They are the right screws.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:22 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tallahassee, FL
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

huh i havent heard of the screw not screwing in all the way.. are you sure all the screws are you same size? it might be a possibility there is dirt buildup in the holes not allowing the screw to fully tighten also.. just trying to think of things that would cause that..
__________________
kyosho mp9:novarossi 21-4C, nova 2084, 7955TG, dx3R
slayyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:27 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

I know they are the right screw because i checked it right in my manual. Yea i will check to see if there is any dirt in there.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:29 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tallahassee, FL
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

yea check that because i cant think of anything else that would make the screw not fasten all the way unless you cross-threaded it..
__________________
kyosho mp9:novarossi 21-4C, nova 2084, 7955TG, dx3R
slayyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:42 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

What do you mean cross thread? You think i should take a drill and widen the hole a little bit? Because there is no dirt in there.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:50 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Do you have the washers that go on those screws? That might be the problem. And loctite them once you have your gear mesh correct.
sdtech58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:56 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

No i do not have the washers. But the other 2 screws do not have washers and they go in all the way. Can i just put ordinary washers in there? And would the screws really stay tight if i added them?
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:00 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

No, there are special tapered washers that go on there. I just checked the manual and they are #8 Countersink washers. There was not a Losi part number for them, but I suspect your LHS would stock them.

The washers should solve the screws not going in all the way. If you loctite them with washers and they still won't hold, then the holes on your motor mounts are probably junk and you should get new ones.
sdtech58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:15 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Ok i see what you are talking about. I just dont get why its not happening to the other screws.
__________________
Losi 8ight 2.0 - O.S V-Spec - Futaba - AKA - M8 - Spektrum - Byrons 20%
jhipps835 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:29 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Zionsville, IN
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I don't know why 2 would go and not the other 2??? There may be a slight manufacturing difference in the motor mounts or something.

I've also heard of people using teflon tape as a temporary fix on race day if the holes are bad. Just wrap the screw with 2 layers of teflon tape and then put it in. Would probably get you through a race day, but not a permanent fix.

Double check your screws to make sure they are the right ones and all 4 are the same length. The fact that 2 will go and 2 won't almost sounds like the thread pitch on 2 of the screws is not correct.

You also have to torque the living sh@t out of them. I've broken a Losi driver torquing mine, but they've never come loose. Repairs tend to get expensive when your engine starts sliding around!! Clutchbells and spur gears aren't cheap.
sdtech58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 02:32 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
losi_racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

DO NOT LOCTITE THEM !!!!

you will never get those screws out intacted. it sounds like the threads inside the mount are messed up. try those screws in the other mount. if they work its the mount, if it doesnt its the screws. When you get this problem fixed just tighten the screws pretty well, to the point where you think your driver will snap. they shouldnt come loose. almost everyone who drives losi for a while will tell you not to loc tit those screws
__________________

Byron Fuels/AKA Tires/Radiopost/TKO/Viper Rc/Dialed Inc/Empire Metal Product/Advantage Racing Products
losi_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 04:46 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
DO NOT LOCTITE THEM !!!!

you will never get those screws out intacted. it sounds like the threads inside the mount are messed up. try those screws in the other mount. if they work its the mount, if it doesnt its the screws. When you get this problem fixed just tighten the screws pretty well, to the point where you think your driver will snap. they shouldnt come loose. almost everyone who drives losi for a while will tell you not to loc tit those screws
I always use blue locktite on the screws from the bottom and I have never had a problem. Been running losi for 3 years now.
l3asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:23 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
sport10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 964
Default

No one has even mentioned to try and run the appropiate size ream through the mount. The threads might be messed up or not completely through. The ream should fix this. Think it is 8-32 size.
__________________
Hot Bodies VE8 w/ RX8-1900 combo
Losi XXX-SCT CRC conversion MMP/hacker 13.5
Associated B44
Associated B6
Durango DESC410V2 Pro
sport10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XXX-NT AD2 Thread DemonLosi Nitro Off-Road 2245 06-06-2017 01:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net