R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2009, 11:15 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Amoeba Send a message via MSN to Amoeba Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
Default LiPo and servos

I know JR has the new HV's and Hitec is coming out with their HV version soon too (got some on order) but I'm wondering what current non-HV servos you guys have run unregulated with lipo with no issues. I've read from several knowledgeable posters that JR+lipo=fail but the hitec 7955 seems to do okay unregulated...

So, what are your experiences with this anyone? Are there particular brands or models that can take lipo well without dropping $400 on 2 new HV's?
__________________
Erin Carroll

Do Not Taunt Happy-Fun Ball
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:22 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
RJNicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX (another burb of Dallas)
Posts: 371
Default

I have run Hitech's on unregulated Lipo. I know a couple of people that have also been running the 9100t/s and the a few different Futaba's (not sure the model i think its the 351BLS) on unregulated as well.

7965 and 7955 are 2 that I currently run unregulated.

The 7955 is a part of the Hitech HV line, and is rated to handle 2S LiPo unregulated. It just doesn't have the faster speed or torque that the new Hitech HV's will have, but they are still insane and probably the badest servo's on the market right now.
__________________
*Team Terribles*
Rigs Listed Below
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/BCE Chassis/OS VZB *Sleeper*/RE11/JRHV Servos/KHZ
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/Werks B7 Pro/2013/Hitech HV Servos
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 E/Mamba Monster ESC/Xcelorin 2100kv or NEU Castle 2650kv *RIP-LIPO FIRE
RJNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:34 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Amoeba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Amoeba Send a message via MSN to Amoeba Send a message via Yahoo to Amoeba
Default

Thanks RJ. You happen to have any link to documentation etc that gives a breakdown of the total power rating for servos, Hitec or otherwise?
__________________
Erin Carroll

Do Not Taunt Happy-Fun Ball
Amoeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:44 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
RJNicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX (another burb of Dallas)
Posts: 371
Default

Nope sorry.

I called Hitech on the 7955, and was told directly from their support it is a part of the HV line. The 7965 is just durable enough to handle it, and has for 3 gallons now with no issues.

The higher quality servos can handle it with no issues IMO.

I have also run JR 8711 and 9100t/s with no issues, but JR states they are not rated for 2S Lipo, but they have taken it with no issues or overheating.

I mean NiMh when full charged can reach upwards of close to 8v before dropping down to 6v range. So for a bit of time on a fresh battery everyone is running above 6.4v to their servos.

I would make sure you run a RX that can handle it. That is the only reason I stick with Spektrum. All their RX equipment is rated to handle up to 9.6v.
__________________
*Team Terribles*
Rigs Listed Below
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/BCE Chassis/OS VZB *Sleeper*/RE11/JRHV Servos/KHZ
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 B/Werks B7 Pro/2013/Hitech HV Servos
Losi 8IGHT 2.0 E/Mamba Monster ESC/Xcelorin 2100kv or NEU Castle 2650kv *RIP-LIPO FIRE
RJNicholson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:11 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
J_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 175
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if Savox/team orion servos can run viably without being regulated?

I am running mine regulated but If I knew I didn't need to I would save some space in my radio tray and throw away the regulator

any input is welcomed.
J_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 01:34 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,345
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

excellent thread - I hope it also gets extended to talking about which receivers can actually handle the extra Volts...

Anyone knows about KO302F's?

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 01:50 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Man View Post
Does anyone know if Savox/team orion servos can run viably without being regulated?

I am running mine regulated but If I knew I didn't need to I would save some space in my radio tray and throw away the regulator

any input is welcomed.
Savox/Team Orion servos need to be regulated, I know some people who have burned theirs by not using a regulator.
R1RCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 04:02 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

the KOPROPO 2367, 2368 and 2386 servos can work unregulated, but there is a caveat there, according to KO, they will work fine, in fact with higher torque and faster speeds, however, they warn the user that if you use these servos with unregulated lipos then you risk shortening the life of the motor, so basically its the user's call, if he wants better performance but not lasting equipment, then go unregulated with these servos, but for longevity, use a regulator. hope this helps.
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:39 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can use lipo unregulated on KO's 2.4 rx. It says it right in my KO EX1-UR 2.4 direction manual. I know guys who use unregulated on 5955's on 1 of their cars and the same with 7955 on their other car. I want to but only have this servo on my steering. I am getting the Lifepo 6.6 pack to get a bit of the best of both worlds.
__________________
TT MT4G3 all tricked
TTST4G3 MT4ed out

JR servos Hitec servos. Gens ace lipos KO radio.
malik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:47 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rossville Ga
Posts: 1,398
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Use a regulator. It is like wearing a condom your less likely to have any unplanned circumstances.
bigde2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:59 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigde2001 View Post
Use a regulator. It is like wearing a condom your less likely to have any unplanned circumstances.
Until the regulator fails, which will be bad if you know what i mean.
__________________
Losi 8ight-Novarossi N21R-Hitec Servos-AKA-M11 Spektrum
*TEAM TERRIBLES*
Cory Kerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:22 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
netmaster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have run direct liPo using Hitech 5955's with a Spektrum RX for over a year now with no issues.
netmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 04:55 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 577
Default

O.K. I have been running hi-tec 7955's with a regulator and tried running un-regulated and every time i have glitching. As soon as I put the regulator back on the glitching goes away.I have switched back and forth from regulated to un-regulated at least 4 times and the glitching is always there without the regulator. My question is..... Could a steering servo that is about to fail cause the glitching?? this servo showed no signs of performance problems during the swapping of the regulator. The glitching was a complete loss of steering and throttle. I am using a spektrum dx3r......I am stumped.....lipo of course.The steering servo has just failed.
Joey Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:05 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 577
Default

bump
Joey Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:47 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Midnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Edmond. Oklahoma
Posts: 2,066
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Will the 2.4 airtronics rx handle the lipo without the regulator?
__________________
RC8T; Losi 2.0B; FT T4; AKA & RB
Hoffman Photography, www.carolinasrc.com
Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 01:50 PM
Direct connection from Lithium Ion 7.2V to receiver & servos asw7576 Nitro On-Road 22 03-14-2008 06:45 AM
Would this be a good surface steering servo? ozandangel Electric Off-Road 7 01-14-2007 03:47 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net