R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2009, 06:10 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
xyzyx00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default a different vspec issue...

so i had about 6 gallons on my vspec and the pin that holds the rod broke on the crank. luckily no other internal damage occured. I ended up finding a new crank from a ninja and throwing that in. got to the track and immediately noticed i had to richen things up quite a bit, the motor was idling at like 230 and ever sinse i have had one heck of a time tuning a decent idle on this thing- i have NEVER had this much of a problem before putting this crank in the motor. ive done everything, new bearings, o rings, motor has plenty of compression, it doesnt matter.

has anyone else had this crank in a vspec... ?
xyzyx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Mlbracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 215
Default

I believe the Ninja crank is the .28 from OS

so it may be to big for the components?
__________________
~ Team Associated ~ Jconcepts ~ Byrons Fuel ~
Thanks to my dad and everyone who helps us out!
Mlbracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 09:10 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Mr. Twister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hendersonville Tn
Posts: 1,271
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mlbracing View Post
I believe the Ninja crank is the .28 from OS

so it may be to big for the components?
close but not the same, also, if you put the JX crank in to the v spec, all that pretty coating may wear faster, it was designed for the speed and JX rod which have the lube hole in the back of the rod, the v spec rod gets it's lube through the crank of the v spec, check your rod and crank.
__________________
Brian Carey
615-838-5373
Tennessee Oval Performance
Check us out on Facebook
Mr. Twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:03 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
xyzyx00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i dont have much run time sinse the swap due to fustration, i would only say a total of an inermittant 5 tanks or so. internally everything still looks good, just cant get a consistent idle. so there is a possibility my problems could be from the crank?

now im stuck... spend more money on this dam motor or just get a plus 4?
xyzyx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:12 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

If you didn't put in the Ninja or SPEED rod there lies your problem.

The stock V-spec rod doesn't have an oiling hole like the ninja or speed rod do. You need that oiling hole if you run the ninja or speed crank.
Your motor is running hot because, most likely than not, you don't have any lube getting between you rod and crank pin.
__________________
-TKO Competition Development-Sidewinder Fuel-
Alan D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:45 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 313
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I just thought I'd say if you go ahead and get a Plus 4 you'll be one happy camper

Awesome engine.

Cheers
anf0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:58 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to smb17
Default

I put a ninja rod, piston, sleeve, and wrist pin into my v-spec. I had to richen things up because of the 5 port but other wise it runs like a champ.
__________________
-
smb17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 05:41 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DOMIT Send a message via Yahoo to DOMIT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzyx00 View Post
so i had about 6 gallons on my vspec and the pin that holds the rod broke on the crank. luckily no other internal damage occured. I ended up finding a new crank from a ninja and throwing that in. got to the track and immediately noticed i had to richen things up quite a bit, the motor was idling at like 230 and ever sinse i have had one heck of a time tuning a decent idle on this thing- i have NEVER had this much of a problem before putting this crank in the motor. ive done everything, new bearings, o rings, motor has plenty of compression, it doesnt matter.

has anyone else had this crank in a vspec... ?
No, but I'm actually thinking of doing exactly that due to the hard coating on the crank (crank will not wear as rapidly as the stock one.)

The hollow part of the crank is where your air and fuel mixture pass through- this is probably shaped different so it flows different. A retune would almost certainly be needed.

Also, as mentioned... you need either the Ninja rod or the Speed rod due to the difference in the way they are oiled. VSPEC rod with no oiling hole + Ninja crank with no oiling hole = no lubrication to the rod bushing on the lower end.

Someone said that's the .28 crank... I don't think it is the same, but might be. It is very similar to the Speed crank, but without the counterweights.

There is no reason your combination shouldn't work just fine as long as you use a rod that is appropriate for that crank.
__________________
Brad "DOMIT" Smith - I'm not fast, but at least I wreck a lot.
Unsponsored, but I use/recommend: XRay XB9, Alpha A852, Dynamite 053, Airtronics M11, Hitec 5955TG & 7955TG, ABEC 35 clutch and chassis bearings, PTRCRacing shock and diff fluids, Ready Rollers ceramic engine bearings. ** Team Terribles Region 9 coordinator. ** JOIN TEAM TERRIBLES! All racers welcome! PM me for details.
DOMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:12 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,500
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Ninja engine uses the os .28 case not the crank.
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 08:53 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,715
Trader Rating: 25 (88%+)
Send a message via AIM to megasaxon Send a message via Yahoo to megasaxon
Default

yep os .28 crankcase, with a few small differences
__________________
Team Associated RC10GT
Team Associated RC10GT2
megasaxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:27 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

PLUS 4 and dont worry no more. Novarossi is the ticket !!
__________________
Making a comeback !!
roadracer43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:37 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,078
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

If it's the original rod it is probably worn alot. Check your head shims to make sure they are all there.

Rex
__________________
Rw modding and engine repair http://www.rw-mods.com
Sleeve resizing $15.00/ motor rebuild $30.00
Argus engine distributor/Avid bearings/ Alpha engines/
Fx Royal engines/ Maxy Engines
e-mail rwmods@yahoo.com Rex Welch
22Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:51 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
xyzyx00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

wierd... my rod does have the oil hole for the crank pin. i originally bought the motor used and im almost sure the previous owner changed the piston/sleeve assembly... maybe they put the speed rod in there at the same time.

gonna take it back to the track tomarrow and see what happens...
xyzyx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:02 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzyx00 View Post
wierd... my rod does have the oil hole for the crank pin. i originally bought the motor used and im almost sure the previous owner changed the piston/sleeve assembly... maybe they put the speed rod in there at the same time.

gonna take it back to the track tomarrow and see what happens...
I see you are in SoCal. What track are you going to tomorrow?

I will be at ARC tomorrow night. I'd be happy to take a look at your engine and help you tune it.


Jimmy Wright
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8IGHT 2.0! BAUSTIN Nitro Off-Road 14679 09-12-2015 07:58 AM
8T 2.0 polarismaster Nitro Off-Road 15880 02-02-2015 10:31 AM
Losi 8ight building and setup JBRacing Nitro Off-Road 8691 06-27-2011 08:43 AM
Trinity EXTECH .21 Fierle03 Offroad Nitro Engine Forum 2130 06-09-2011 07:01 AM
vspec unbeatable?!?! liteumup387 Nitro Off-Road 36 06-14-2009 06:13 AM
An issue to be addressed... NuthinFancy91 Georgia Racing 8 10-20-2008 07:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net