R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2009, 11:00 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default swapping carbs, is it possible?

I have a HPI engine that I bough from a friend, im not happy with the way the carb slides (almost feels "grindy") and going from 0-10% throttle it seems like it hydrolocks.. the pin and the throttle is hard to pul for the first tiny bit (ive only done it with my hands, no servos yet).

anyways, I dont like the HPIs carb. I was wondering if the perfect carb off my trashed SH.28(cheap chinese knock off engine from a himoto buggy) engine would fit? would it work properly?

I am asking because I have been out of rc cars for a year and strictly into dirtbikes (2005 crf 450r ). I know that swapping carbs from different dirtbikes/engines is the dumbest idea EVER... same concept for rc cars?

thanks guys.
whatsitallworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:08 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

It may. Try it and find out.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:11 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
It may. Try it and find out.
and what exactly am I looking for? how will I know if its a good/bad carb?

if it fits into the engine do I assume its a perfect match? the "main jet" size isint going to be different or anything? its not gonna ruin my engine or make it run bad?

is there even that much of a difference between RC car carbs or am I overthinking it? they look very simple... but ive been wrong before.

sorry but im still in the mentality of a 4 stroke engine, dirtbike carb.
whatsitallworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:38 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,781
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If it fits, it will work. The only thing you have to watch out for is a good seal. Put a little sealant around the carb base.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:57 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,715
Trader Rating: 25 (88%+)
Send a message via AIM to megasaxon Send a message via Yahoo to megasaxon
Default

yep if it will fit, it should work, you'll have to tune it in obviously. big block carbs are created pretty much equal, should have the same size throat. Only exceptions i've seen are Axe Rossi's have a much larger throat and the reedy's which bolt down....
__________________
Team Associated RC10GT
Team Associated RC10GT2
megasaxon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:34 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
aaron2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 1,262
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
If it fits, it will work. The only thing you have to watch out for is a good seal. Put a little sealant around the carb base.
+1. Personally, I love OS Carbs! Running one on my RB S3 right now!

In regards to your old carb, check something out. Pull it completely apart, but pay attention to where the idle adjustment screw pushes into the barrel. The way some carbs are designed, if you don't open the carb by hand before screwing the idle set screw in, it can actually dig into the slide barrel and marr it. This marr may seem insignificant, but even a slight disfiguration of the slide can make it hang up terribly during movement!!!!

If this is the case, use a piece of emery cloth or fine sandpaper to remove any burrs. It should rock on as new!
__________________
Pick me!
aaron2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:00 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
jk1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 292
Default

When I had this happen at the track during a race. Pulled off the rubber housing on the low speed need. Unscrewed the idle screw, put the low speed barrel in a drill (while still in the carb), spun it until it would slide nice again. Sprayed out the crab with nitro spray and ran the main!

(Note carb was not attached to the engine)
jk1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:15 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

awesome! thanks for all the help guys, I really appreciate it.

I swapped carbs yesterday, they fit fine. Ive yet to run the engine yet... I will later on today.

thanks!
whatsitallworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:36 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: virginia
Posts: 156
Default

it should work fine
i myself run a os speed with a grp carb on it and it screams

personally i had nothin but problems with the os carb.
__________________
rc-pro racing in gloucester va/TEAM TERRIBLES
ST-RR/8ight 2.0
osspeed,ebmods pipe,trinity platinum 30%,dx3r
crawldad91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net