R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-07-2009, 09:30 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
gangstzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lithonia Georgia
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to gangstzer Send a message via Yahoo to gangstzer
Default HELP PLEASE!!!

Ok hey i just installed a new jr high torque steering servo in my jato. For some reason the servo wont turn the wheels at all in both directions and only in 1 direction. ( meaning I cant turn left and right but only left ). I have tried to tweak my remote to controll the servo but it seems as if its not working. Any advice? Its really pissing me off this 70 bux servo is freaking up!
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/317150-gas-powered-blowout-electrics-come.html#post6157746
gangstzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:40 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
KThatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 1000 Oaks, Ca.
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gangstzer View Post
Ok hey i just installed a new jr high torque steering servo in my jato. For some reason the servo wont turn the wheels at all in both directions and only in 1 direction. ( meaning I cant turn left and right but only left ). I have tried to tweak my remote to controll the servo but it seems as if its not working. Any advice? Its really pissing me off this 70 bux servo is freaking up!
Try reseting the horn.. take it horn off turn car on and then put the horm back on making sure tires are zeroed
__________________
- Picco - Triton RC - 818 Designs - Team-CRP - RCRenew.com -
Pro Motion T-shirts -
KThatcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 09:45 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
scwrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,421
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

your request is confusing but I will try.

New steering Servo Install-

Zero out any steering trim on the RX.

Install new servo with no horn.

Turn on Radio and then the RX

Servo will be centered.

Attach servo horn with wheels as straight as you can (RX still on).

Last thing is to check steering EPA and make sure there is no unnecessary strain on the servo!

P.S. If the servo is a different brand you may need a new horn that will match the new JR servo.

What servo was in it before???
__________________
hbracing.com tritonrc.com raceaka.com
scwrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:53 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 129
Default

Hi there, ok, you need to center the servo, remove the servo horn with the electronics turned off, then turn the radio and car on. then re install the servo horn. also double check your radio's end points. good luck and have fun at the races. Scott
rc_racer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:34 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
gangstzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lithonia Georgia
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to gangstzer Send a message via Yahoo to gangstzer
Default

ok I did that...no new results...its not turning the wheels strong enough to the left or the right now...
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/317150-gas-powered-blowout-electrics-come.html#post6157746
gangstzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:40 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Did you change the servo spline?
__________________
Jesse Carrillo
Team Driver For:
TLR | Horizon Hobby | Nitrotane | Spektrum | HandleITHobbies | 818 Designs
pyromania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:48 PM   #7
Tech Lord
 
Jaz240's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,492
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Servo saver set too lose???? tighten down that bad boy!!
__________________
nothing to see here................................
Jaz240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 02:58 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Take the servo horn off and then turn on your radio and turn the wheel and see if the servo moves. If it does then the servo is not the problem. Next make sure that the inside of the servo horn is not striped out. It may fit on there but if all the groves are gone it wont turn.
__________________
XT8 - Werks B5
Hyper 10SC Novak PRO ESC 4.5HV
Madbrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:01 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,639
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Is this servo digital? If so, it may not work with your current radio system. You didn't give any details so it is difficult to know what you had in the truck. Could be the stock Traxxas or maybe you swapped it out for another brand as one of the other posters suggested.
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:02 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
JeromeK99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Loma Linda, CA - USA
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you are using the stock Traxxas radio, make sure that the servo you bought is "digital".. if its an analog.. you won't be able to use it... I've seen this happen with Slash and Slayer owners...

Jerome
JeromeK99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:02 PM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
gangstzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lithonia Georgia
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to gangstzer Send a message via Yahoo to gangstzer
Default

yea its a digital servo and im not using the stock remote. Im using the jr xr2..
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/317150-gas-powered-blowout-electrics-come.html#post6157746
gangstzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 07:08 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,657
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

when you take the horn off, and turn the radio on does the servo move then without the horn?


this may sound silly but you didn't plug it into the throtle did you? are your batteries fully charged?
__________________
"You are not understanding the fundamental principles of my fragmented personality"

Mugen
dreaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:02 PM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
gangstzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lithonia Georgia
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to gangstzer Send a message via Yahoo to gangstzer
Default

no, no, yes
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/317150-gas-powered-blowout-electrics-come.html#post6157746
gangstzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:48 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
JeromeK99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Loma Linda, CA - USA
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gangstzer View Post
yea its a digital servo and im not using the stock remote. Im using the jr xr2..
Then maybe its the opposite.. Can the JR XR2 handle digital servos?

Jerome
JeromeK99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 11:47 AM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
gangstzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lithonia Georgia
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to gangstzer Send a message via Yahoo to gangstzer
Default

its a digital remote.....
__________________
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/317150-gas-powered-blowout-electrics-come.html#post6157746
gangstzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net