R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2009, 01:00 PM   #31
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 815
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikzilla View Post
I did not get what you just said....
you say it dies... is it just sitting there idling, or does it even after you start driving it around?

because nitro engines, if rich on the low end, will just load up and die while idling, so you have to what they call "clear it out" by giving it occasional blips of throttle to clear out the fuel that loaded up, so it doesn't die

you have to go easy, if its loaded up and you give it WOT then it will most likely just die
spawn_x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 03:36 PM   #32
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 76
Default

it dies the second I take out the igniter. Or when I run it with ingiter for a while. If I give gas, take out ingniter, then next time I give gas it cuts of again.
Nikzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 04:18 PM   #33
K_B
Tech Master
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

It sounds like it's just too rich either on the top or the bottom or both. It may be running so rich that it's fouling the plug. I would try a new plug and lean out the bottom about a half turn and see if it will at least idle a bit without the igniter connected. Do you have a hobby shop nearby? I would have them help you with it. You'll make alot more progress that way.

Getting tuning advice over the internet is like getting driving lessons from Stevie Wonder...
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 05:29 PM   #34
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 76
Default

ok

Whos is stevie wonder?
Nikzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 05:31 PM   #35
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikzilla View Post
ok

Whos is stevie wonder?
Really?
AsSc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 06:14 PM   #36
Tech Regular
 
race raider's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: high desert california / Las Vegas
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikzilla View Post
ok

Whos is stevie wonder?
__________________
1 Corinthians 2:2 for I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus and him crucified.
race raider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 07:30 PM   #37
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 76
Default

Nikzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 10:24 PM   #38
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

what plug are you using now?
try a hotter plug. nova#5, sirio#5 or osp3.

yr tune is definitely out...seems too rich to me.
__________________
>>> the "SNAKE" doesn't bite; it STINGS! <<<
keavze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 01:37 AM   #39
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 76
Default

My plug is a copy of the stock and I tried running it with leanest setting possile for idle, half a turn lean away from stock for high, and 1 turn lean on low from stock.
Nikzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 01:49 AM   #40
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_B View Post
Getting tuning advice over the internet is like getting driving lessons from Stevie Wonder...
*ROFL*

Well said!
__________________
MBX6R
B5M Lowrider
DEX410
Supastox GT
triplesix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 10:20 PM   #41
Tech Adept
 
nuttynative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

A friend tore my ExTech down and found that the epoxy in the crank had melted/came loose and was blocking most of the ports. Cleaned it up and it runs fine.
nuttynative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:22 AM   #42
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

I seriously doubt his engine has a filled crank since it's a bone stock Kyosho DBX.
__________________
MBX6R
B5M Lowrider
DEX410
Supastox GT
triplesix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:50 AM   #43
Tech Elite
 
dishsoap's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttynative View Post
A friend tore my ExTech down and found that the epoxy in the crank had melted/came loose and was blocking most of the ports. Cleaned it up and it runs fine.
The exact and I mean exact same thing happend to me. I was about to throw it in the trash. I had some help from some friends and experienced drivers.

Mine runs like a champ now. Let me guess did you put after run oil in it?
__________________
HobbyTown USA Tucson!!! HobbyTown USA SRS!!!!
dishsoap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 06:14 AM   #44
Tech Adept
 
nuttynative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

No on the after run oil. I went to the ExTech engines after running the OS Speeds. If you use after run oil in them it will eat the silicone out of the cranks so I just dont use it. My cars don't set very long without use.
nuttynative is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net