Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Any tips on starting my motor for the first time? >

Any tips on starting my motor for the first time?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Any tips on starting my motor for the first time?

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 12:33 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Any tips on starting my motor for the first time?

I have a mach 2 .21 buggy motor and it won't start for the first time. I have been threw three glow plugs and made sure not to flood the motor. It fires a little bit but not enough to start it up. I have been at it for three days now with no luck. I am very new to nitro so any tips would be appreciated.

thanks
Old 07-31-2009, 12:38 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

make sure you prime the engine, you dont want it spinning while its new with no fuel in it. also pre-heat the engine with a heat gun or a hair dryer to close to 200 degrees. this should make it start right up. finally make sure your ingiter and starter box or rotostart i guess is freshly charged.
Old 07-31-2009, 12:41 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Make sure your glow driver is charged......

That one gets a lot of people.
Old 07-31-2009, 01:03 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by lalmog91
make sure you prime the engine, you dont want it spinning while its new with no fuel in it. also pre-heat the engine with a heat gun or a hair dryer to close to 200 degrees. this should make it start right up. finally make sure your ingiter and starter box or rotostart i guess is freshly charged.
I primed the motor. I blew threw the fuel line to get fuel to the carb. I didn't think i needed to do the hair dryer thing because is is 100 degrees down here. My igniter has a fresh battery in it. While pulling the pull start the rope came out of it so that will also set me back.
Old 07-31-2009, 01:07 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)