Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Switching the roto-start on RC8T RTR >

Switching the roto-start on RC8T RTR

Switching the roto-start on RC8T RTR

Old 07-22-2009, 10:23 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Switching the roto-start on RC8T RTR

hey everone, im new to rctech so any help would be greatly appreciated, i hate the roto start and was wondering if theres someway i can put a cap there and just run a box with the rtr .28 motor?
Old 07-23-2009, 03:04 AM
Tech Initiate

You don't need to put a backplate on it (i assume that's what you mean when you say 'cap')...Just get yourself a box and set it all up - It will be just the same as if you had the backplate - You're just cutting out the OWB.
Old 07-23-2009, 03:09 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

Originally Posted by jim101092
You don't need to put a backplate on it (i assume that's what you mean when you say 'cap')...Just get yourself a box and set it all up - It will be just the same as if you had the backplate - You're just cutting out the OWB.
Well he's not cutting out the OWB. It's still in the engine, but you can use a bump box without modifying the engine. But if you can get a new back plate for the engine I would do so, the OWB does rob your engine of power.
Old 07-23-2009, 03:12 AM
Tech Initiate

I know it's still on...just saying that even though it's there, it's not needed in order to start the engine.
Old 07-23-2009, 11:19 AM
Tech Initiate

okay perfect, and yeah thats what i was asking if i need the back plate b/c until i find one id like to use the starter box if i could. so thanks alot!
Old 07-23-2009, 11:30 AM
Tech Fanatic

I would actually remove the owb so that it wont go out while your running, just remove it than put the back plate back on and use the bump box as normal....I did this on my 21tm and it works great....
Old 07-23-2009, 11:40 AM
Tech Elite

Dude if I was you, I would do it the RIGHT WAY. Get rid of the roto start , get the back plate for it.